Surprise! Wilco just released a new album called Star Wars

The 11-track effort is available for free download on the band's website


    Jeff Tweedy and his son Spencer teamed up last September for Sukierae, their debut album as Tweedy. Still, it’s been nearly four years since Wilco proper put out a record, 2011’s The Whole Love. That is, until this evening.

    Out of the blue, Wilco released a surprise new album on its website. Awesomely titled Star Wars, the LP spans 11 tracks and comes with an equally wonderful piece of cat artwork. “Random Name Generator”, “The Joke Explained”, “Taste the Ceiling”, and “Cold Slope” are among the song titles.

    Perhaps the best part — yes, even better than the name and staring kitty cat — is that it’s available for free download in exchange for your email address. Head on over to Wilco’s official site to snag a copy for yourself. Update: It’s also streaming in full below.


    What’s the occasion for such a sudden gift? Here’s what Tweedy said on Facebook:

    “Why release an album this way and why make it free?” Well, the biggest reason, and I’m not sure we even need any others, is that it felt like it would be fun. What’s more fun than a surprise?”

    Star Wars Tracklist:
    01. EKG
    02. More…
    03. Random Name Generator
    04. The Joke Explained
    05. You Satellite
    06. Taste the Ceiling
    07. Pickled Ginger
    08. Where Do I Begin
    09. Cold Slope
    10. King of you
    11. Magnetized