The Libertines premiere studio version of “Gunga Din” and video — watch

Lead single off the band's forthcoming reunion album, Anthems For Doomed Youth


    Last night, The Libertines officially announced Anthems for Doomed Youth, their first album in 11 years. Less than 24 hours after the big news, Pete Doherty & co. are back with the reunion LP’s lead single “Gunga Din”, which takes its name from Rudyard Kipling’s eponymous 19th century poem.

    The Londoners previously debuted the new song live at The Netherlands’ Best Kept Secret Music Festival, but now its final studio version has been revealed by BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac. Backed by dub-like grooves and even the occasional crunchy surf rock riff, Doherty and Carl Barât find their chemistry again, effortlessly trading lines as though the band had never gone on a hiatus. Watch the single’s corresponding vd


    Anthems For Doomed Youth, the follow-up to 2004’s The Libertines, arrives on September 4th via Harvest Records/Virgin EMI.

    Anthems For Doomed Youth Tracklist:
    01. Barbarians
    02. Gunga Din
    03. Fame and Fortune
    04. Anthem for Doomed Youth
    05. Heart of the Matter
    06. Belly of the Beast
    07. Iceman
    08. You’re My Waterloo
    09. Fury of Chonburi
    10. The Milkman’s Horse
    11. Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
    12. Dead for Love
    13. Love on the Dole *
    14. Bucket Shop *
    15. Lust of the Libertines *
    16. 7 Deadly Sins *

    * = bonus tracks

Personalized Stories

Around The Web