Dr. Dre says Detox is dead

Long-in-the-works LP canceled in favor of Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre


    Dr. Dre has formally announced details of his new album, Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre, which serves as the soundtrack to the N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton. And with it comes the tragic announcement that Dre’s long-awaited LP, Detox, has officially been canceled.

    “I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good,” Dre said of Detox, which had been in the works since 2001. “The record, it just wasn’t good … I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job.”

    Instead, Dre focused his efforts on Compton, which features contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, and others. It will be released on August 7th, and not August 1st as previously reported, through Apple Music. Pre-orders are ongoing. The artwork and tracklist can be found below.


    Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre Artwork:


    Compton A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre Tracklist:
    01. Intro
    02. Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus)
    03. Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
    04. It’s All on Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
    05. All in a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
    06. Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
    07. Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
    08. Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
    09. Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
    10. One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg)
    11. Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant)
    12. For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
    13. Satisfaction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
    14. Animals (feat. Anderson Paak)
    15. Medicine Mane (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
    16. Talking to My Diary