Madlib, DOOM, Blu, and MED join forces on “Knock Knock” — listen

Taken from Madlib, Blu, and MED's forthcoming album, Bad Neighbor


    DOOM recently resurrected DOOMSTARKS, his superduo project with Ghostface Killah. However, that’s not the only collaboration the masked MC has brought back to life: This week, he and his Madvillain partner in crime Madlib appear together for the first time in a years on a brand new song called “Knock Knock”.

    The track, which is taken from Bad Neighbor, the forthcoming album from Madlib and frequent collaborators Blu, and MED, is replete with swaggering bars and a hard-to-resist funkiness. In an interview with Rolling Stone, MED dished on DOOM’s contributions:

    “Doom’s verse was the interesting one. Doom’s concept was that it’s a text message. He text messages me while I’m not home, so he comes to my house anyway and starts borrowing all kinds of shit, you know, villain-style. I was, like, what the fuck is that? So there’s this whole verse about him going to my house, drinking my beers, going through my DVDs. It’s so hilarious and genius.”

    Listen in below.


    Bad Neighbor, due out on October 30 MED’s Bang Ya Head imprint, also features cameos from Dam-Funk, Hodgy Beats, and Mayer Hawthorne. The 15-track effort follows Madlib, Blu, and MED’s joint Burgundy EP, released back in 2013 through Stones Throw Records.

    Pre-orders for the album have begun.

    Bad Neighbor Tracklist:
    01. Greetings
    02. Serving (feat. Hodgy Beats)
    03. Peroxide (feat. Dam-Funk, DJ Romes)
    04. Get Money (feat. Frank Nitt)
    05. Streets (feat. Oh No, DJ Romes)
    06. The Stroll (feat. AMG)
    07. Knock Knock (feat. MF DOOM)
    08. Mad Neighbor
    09. The Strip (feat. Anderson. Paak)
    10. Finer Things (feat. Likewise, Phonte)
    11. Burgundy Whip (feat. Jimetta Rose)
    12. Drive In (feat. Aloe Blacc)
    13. Belly Full (feat. Black Spade)
    14. Birds
    15. The Buzz (feat. Mayer Hawthorne)


Personalized Stories

Around The Web