Stream: New Order’s new album Music Complete

Legendary new wave outfit's first full-length in 10 years


    Today, New Order return with their first album in 10 years, Music Complete, via new label home Mute Records. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available via Apple Music.

    Spanning 11 tracks, Music Complete marks the legendary new wave outfit’s 10th and the follow-up to 2005’s Waiting For The Sirens’ Call. It also marks the return of band member Gillian Gilbert, who hasn’t recorded with New Order since 2001’s Get Ready. (Gilbert left shortly after that record’s release, but returned 10 years later in 2011 after her children had grown.)

    The new album was produced nearly entirely by New Order themselves (Gilbert, Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris, Tom Chapman and Phil Cunningham). The exceptions being Tom Rowlands’ work on tracks “Singularity” and “Unlearn This Hatred”, plus additional production by Stuart Price on “Superheated”. It is preceded by the singles “Restless” and “Plastic”.


    In his Top Rated review of the album, Editor-in-Chief Michael Roffman writes, “”Restless”, ‘Singularity”, and “Plastic” might be the strongest three-prong opener of any album released this year — or even in the last half decade. Histrionic statement? Possibly, but try sitting down after that 18-minute blow to the feet. Sumner goes into full-on Rockymode and proves it’s not over ’til it’s over for this band of veterans, laying to waste the majority of the acclaimed younger electronic artists tinkering with rust-covered beats in their bedrooms. The tracks are energetic and pummeling, but they’re also subtly fueled by serious issues.”

    Order the album here.

    Music Complete Tracklist:
    01. Restless
    02. Singularity
    03. Plastic
    04. Tutti Frutti
    05. People On The High Line
    06. Stray Dog
    07. Academic
    08. Nothing But A Fool
    09. Unlearn This Hatred
    10. The Game
    11. Superheated

Personalized Stories

Around The Web