Stream: Slayer’s new album Repentless

Veteran thrash metal outfit's 11th LP is "unapologetic and infectious."


This week brings the release of Slayer’s new album, Repentless, through Nuclear Blast Records. Spotify users can stream it in full below.

The long-awaited follow-up to 2009’s World Painted Blood serves as the band’s 11th full-length to date. Spanning 12 tracks, it features some new versions of previously released tracks, including the thrash metal rockers’ recent Record Store Day exclusive “When The Stillness Comes” and 2014’s standalone song “Implode”.

Every version of those songs you may have heard before is different, so I think that’s cool, but I also wanted them to be part of a collection,” guitarist Kerry King told Metal Hammer, adding, “I like the finality of songs belonging on a record.”

The album marks Slayer’s first full-length since the passing of guitarist Jeff Hanneman in 2013. Contrary to earlier reports, the late Hanneman does not appear on the record; however, one of his compositions was recorded for Repentless, and the title track was penned in his honor.

In his review of the album, Sean Barry writes, “The incendiary wrath on display here, so unapologetic and infectious, makes this album undoubtedly Slayer’s. “Vices” celebrates violence as humanity’s greatest release; “A little violence is the ultimate drug/ Let’s get high,” Araya notes. Lines like these are the reason Slayer is beloved. Frustration with a world rife with injustice can become so overwhelming (especially if we lose a friend too soon, as the band laments on the poignant “Chasing Death”) that sometimes expressing our innate aggression is the only way to find release. We find our inner beasts in the riffs and the drums and the primal screams and the thrash itself, even if it’s just for 40 minutes at a time. Here, we can let loose with little intention to apologize.”

Purchase a copy of the album here.

Repentless Tracklist:
01. Delusions of Saviour
02. Repentless
03. Take Control
04. Vices
05. Cast the First Stone
06. When the Stillness Comes
07. Chasing Death
08. Implode
09. Piano Wire
10. Atrocity Vendor
11. You Against You
12. Pride in Prejudice

Latest Stories