Arca details new album Mutant, shares “EN” — listen

Kanye West and Björk affiliate to release sophomore album next month


Kanye West and Björk affiliate Arca has detailed his forthcoming sophomore album, Mutant. The follow-up to last year’s stellar Xen is due out on November 20th via Mute.

Spanning 20 tracks, “Mutant is about sensuality and impulsiveness as escape routes out of rigidity,” the Venezuelan producer explained in a press release. “Softness as a weapon when the mind attacks itself.” A statement further elaborated:

“Mutations in the records’ textures parallel the malleability of identity; tension is harmonized by openness and the inclusiveness of transformation. Pride is taken in deformity, innocence, distortion and vulnerability: traits often ostracized as undesirable. Themes that have animated Arca’s work – tension, polarities, playfulness, eroticism, mutability – have been refracted into newer, more nuanced shades. Fluctuation, in-betweenness, intimacy and chaos are celebrated.”

In addition to the LP news, Arca has unveiled “EN”, a new song awash in beautifully warped noise that doubles as a spell and meditation. Check it out below via its accompanying music video.

For more of Mutant, tune into “Vanity” and “Soichiro”. The album’s cover (seen above) was done by graphic artist Jesse Kanda, who’s done countless pieces of artwork and videos for the producer.

Mutant Tracklist:
01. Alive
02. Mutant
03. Vanity
04. Sinner
05. Anger
06. Sever
07. Beacon
08. Snakes
09. Else
10. Umbilical
11. Hymn
12. Front Load
13. Gratitude
14. EN
15. Siren
16. Extent
17. Enveloped
18. Faggot
19. Soichiro
20. Peonies

Latest Stories