Hear an early version of “Sappy” from upcoming Kurt Cobain solo album

Our first taste of Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings

Kurt Cobain solo

    Next month will bring the release of Kurt Cobain’s debut solo album, Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings. Coming in conjunction with the DVD release of Brett Morgen’s documentary on the Nirvana frontman, the album compiles various unheard song, demos, and “musical experiments.”

    Among them is an early acoustic version of “Sappy”, which is streaming in advance of the album’s November 13th release. Listen below. A finished, full-band version of the song later appeared on the 1993 AIDS-benefit compilation album No Alternative under the title, “Verse Chorus Verse”.

    “Sappy” will also be available on limited-edition 7-inch vinyl, accompanied by Cobain’s cover of The Beatles’ “And I Love Her”.


    Update – Wednesday, 11:20 p.m.: Morgen has revealed the tracklist for Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings. It will be available both as a 13-track standard and 31-track deluxe editions.

    Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings Tracklist:
    01. The Yodel Song
    02. Been a Son (Early Demo)
    03. What More Can I Say
    04. 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial
    05. The Happy Guitar
    06. Montage of Kurt
    07. Beans
    08. Burn the Rain
    09. Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)
    10. Reverb Experiment
    11. Montage of Kurt II
    12. Rehash
    13. You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
    14. Scoff (Early Demo)
    15. Aberdeen
    16. Bright Smile
    17. Underground Celebritism
    18. Retreat
    19. Desire
    20. And I Love Her
    21. Sea Monkeys
    22. Sappy (Early Demo)
    23. Letters to Frances
    24. Scream
    25. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)
    26. Kurt Ambiance
    27. She Only Lies
    28. Kurt Audio Collage
    29. Poison’s Gone
    30. Rhesus Monkey
    31. Do Re Mi (Medley)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web