Stream: Kirt Debique’s debut album Things Left Unsaid

Seattle industrial songwriter copes with familial breakdowns and seeks out healing on first release

things left unsaid

    Kirt Debique, a Seattle-based songwriter by way of Trinidad, started creating music as a means of coping. Going through a divorce and coming to hard realizations about his personal life, he started digging into Ableton Live and experimenting with different textures and sonic ideas. It was his way of giving form to painful internal ideas about love and loss As the electronic and industrial songs began to flesh out, he brought in Benjamin Verdoes (Iska Dhaaf, Mt. St. Helen’s Vietnam Band) and Ephriam Nagler (You Are Plural) as producers. Together, the trio built upon Debique’s massive ideas to present a cohesive representation of his inner struggles.

    The record is designed as a series of letters to Debique’s parents, partners, and siblings, as well as strangers. His hope is that the record will facilitate healing with his loved ones, ideally starting a conversation off of the ideas he expresses in his music. Now, he’s ready to deliver these intensely personal messages as Things Left Unsaid, due out October 23rd via Brick Lane Records.

    “The making of this record transformed me,” Debique tells Consequence of Sound. “Though emotionally risky, and at times difficult, in the end there was comfort for myself and the people I love by having these conversations. My hope is that sharing Things Left Unsaid will spark conversations with and among those who hear these songs, and ultimately, pay that comfort forward.”


    As one might expect from the album’s tumultuous backstory, Things Left Unsaid is marked by drastic highs and lows. Debique transitions seamlessly between serene piano ballads like “Tell Me How You Know” to the rumbling synth bass-filled “Ghosts”. Each track feels like an impulse, blurting out feelings and emotions held back for too long. Intended to be consumed in one sitting, it’s a beautiful and manic look at trying to find peace within crumbling relationships.

    Stream it in full below.

    Pre-orders for Things Left Unsaid are ongoing. Find the complete tracklist below.


    Things Left Unsaid Tracklist:
    01. Celestial Musings
    02. Promise
    03. Dear Mother
    04. Another Time
    05. Tell Me How You Know
    06. Ghosts
    07. Crowded Room
    08. First Son

Personalized Stories

Around The Web