Stream: Erykah Badu’s new mixtape But You Caint Use My Phone

Telephone-themed release includes contributions from André 3000 and Drake


    Today, Erykah Badu has revealed her new mixtape, But You Caint Use My Phone. It’s available to download and stream via Apple Music. You can also listen below via Datpiff.

    The mixtape’s title is a reference to the singer’s 1997 classic “Tyrone”, while each of its tracks is about telephones in some way, specifically “our own reliance on staying inter-connected.” The collection features the previously released “Phone Down” and Badu’s “Hotline Bling” remix, here renamed as “Cell U Lar Device”.

    According to a press release, for the tape, Badu worked closely with producer Zach Witnessin in her hometown of Dallas, Texas. Over a 12-day period, she welcomed a number of surprise guests, including André 3000 and Drake, into her bedroom studio to help create a new genre blend she has dubbed “TRap & B”. Badu and Witnessin focused on creating “sympathetic vibrations” between the music’s frequency and vibration, even utilizing a tuning fork and Tibetan singing bowls to find the precise wavelengths. The goal was to create “a sound that brings peace and tranquility to its listener.”

    The mixtape will be available via all retailers and streaming services come December 4th.

    But You Caint Use My Phone Tracklist:
    01. Caint Use My Phone Suite
    02. Hi
    03. Cell U Lar Device
    04. Phone Down
    05. U Use To Call Me (feat. Drake)
    06. Mr. Telephone Man
    07. U Don’t Have To Call
    08. Whats Yo Phone Number
    09. Dial’afreaq
    10. I’ll Call U Back
    11. Hello (feat. André 3000)