Stream: Grimes’ new album Art Angels

Claire Boucher's much anticipated follow-up to 2012's Visions is here

Grimes Art Angels

    Today, Grimes releases her new album, Art Angels, through 4AD. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available through Apple Music.

    The 15-track effort marks Claire Boucher’s fourth to date following 2012’s Visions. The result of months of writing and studio time, Art Angels only came to fruition after Boucher had scrapped an entire collection of songs.

    One song on the album, called “Kill V Maim”, is written from the perspective of Al Pacino in The Godfather Pt 2. “Except he’s a vampire who can switch gender and travel through space,” she told Q.

    Elsewhere on the album, according to an interview with Dazed and Confused, is a song “from the perspective of a butterfly in the Amazon as people are cutting down trees; there’s a song that’s from the perspective of angels who are polluted, so they’re crying polluted tears.”


    Art Angels is preceded by the songs “Flesh Without Blood”, “Life in the Vivid Dream”, “REALiTi”, “SCREAM”, and “laughing and not being normal”.

    Purchase the album here.

    Art Angels Tracklist:
    01. laughing and not being normal
    02. California
    03. SCREAM (feat. Aristophanes)
    04. Flesh without Blood
    05. Belly of the Beat
    06. Kill V. Maim
    07. Artangels
    08. Easily
    09. Pin
    10. Realiti ^
    11. World Princess part II
    12. Venus Fly (feat. Janelle Monáe)
    13. Life in the Vivid Dream
    14. Butterfly
    15. Realiti (Demo) *

    ^ = CD and digital only
    * = CD only