Top 10 Songs of the Week (11/6)


    If you weren’t aware, we here at CoS were pretty involved with James Bond this week. Particularly of interest? The theme songs, which ranged from absolute jams to some … well … we don’t need to mention some of them. The songs on this list, however, pack some real punch, without a stinker amongst them. Take a look through and you might even find your own personal theme song.

    10. Noun – “Loveblood”

    Nina Corcoran, Consequence of Sound, Screaming Females 4

    If her new solo album is anything to go by, I bet Marissa Paternoster had an incredible Halloween. The Screaming Females frontwoman has taken to her solo project, Noun, to drop a 10-track album gruesomely titled Throw Your Body on the Gears and Stop the Machine with Your Blood. On the second track, “Loveblood”, Paternoster does a great impression of a sentimental zombie, moaning “I want your love, I want your blood” over grainy synths, scraping guitars and a supremely catchy rhythm. Paternoster’s lyrics are dark and dramatic: “It’s on your skin, this mess I’m in, sip too sour,” she sings. “And it all depends on how I spend my last hour.” –Karen Gwee

    09. Banks – “Better”


    A simple, yet entrancing vocal loop runs through the latest single from Banks, the golden thread that ties together her gorgeous vocals and the minimal instrumentation. “I can love you better than she can,” she cries, momentarily supported by chunks of brightly glowing synth and splashes of percussion before returning to airy space. More than anything, this is an excellent platform for Jillian Rose Banks, demonstrating the evocative, skyscraping vocals she can wield like a weapon. The song’s passionate take on dark R&B pop totally justifies her recent placement as the opener for The Weeknd’s upcoming tour. Luckily, the premier of “Better” also came with the promise of a new album, likely due sometime early in 2016.  –Adam Kivel

    08. Jlin – “Nandi”


    Very few dance music genres allow as much freedom as footwork. A product and resident of the underground, its percussive mercilessness has always invited new forms of synthesis. Ripped from Jlin’s forthcoming four-track EP, Free Fall, “Nandi” reflects the boundary-less aural consumption of its creator.  On “Nandi”, the Gary, IN native imbibes the genre’s stuttering post-industrial vibes with African-inspired polyrhythms, creeping dubstep bass rolls, and console-ripped video game samples. In this Internet age, no sound or texture is off limits in the loosely structured bedlam of footwork. The sound might be without its godfather, but DJ Rashad’s influence lives on with Jlin and her Chicagoland contemporaries. Free Fall is available November 27th via Planet Mu. —Derek Staples

    07. Justin Bieber – “I’ll Show You”

    Justin Bieber

    For just a moment, forget that it’s Justin Bieber and Skrillex (with major support from BLOOD) at the helm of “I’ll Show You”. An ode to the implicit imperfections of a hurried adolescence and the challenges of personal growth, the single delivers a near-universal message (no matter one’s starpower) over an easily digestible, yet forward-leaning instrumental. BLOOD’s weightless touch, combined with Skrillex’s signature dynamics, result in a wandering bass thump that only momentarily protrudes through the ambient melodies. The electronics never abandon the lyrical vulnerability at the song’s core. Along with the rest of Purpose, “I’ll Show You” is an attempt to cast both Bieber and Skrillex in a new artistic light. The final test arrives when the full album drops November 13th via Def Jam. –Derek Staples

    06. 8 Inch Betsy – “Meant to Mean”

    the mean days

    8 Inch Betsy’s lead singer Meghan Galbraith passed away last January, and to hear her songs after her death curls a strange premonitory quality around her lyrics. “Keep it safe for me,” she sings on the band’s latest single, “Meant to Mean”, taken from the forthcoming posthumous LP The Mean Days. She’s talking about the self you impart onto a partner, the one they take with them when they leave you, but her grizzled voice could almost be singing about her music and her memory itself. The angst in her delivery is shaded by her tragedy but not rooted in it, and it deepens the track from your standard snare-hit punk rock into something that snarls with heart. –Sasha Geffen

    05. Little Simz – “Don’t Forget”

    Little Simz

    UK rapper Little Simz released her debut album, A Curious Tale of Trials and Persons, earlier this year, but she hasn’t taken much time off from recording since. She laid down “Don’t Forget” this summer and released it this week as a one-off bonus to fans. The quick, lithe track packs plenty of lyrical acrobatics into its two-and-a-half-minute runtime, as though Simz just wanted to circle back to remind you that her tongue’s still sharp. “I’m bigger than your whole imagination,” she goes, and then, in case it wasn’t implied, she spells out how that zinger’s supposed to be punctuated: “Exclamation, exclamation.” –Sasha Geffen

    04. Kite Base – “Miracle Waves”

    Kite Base

    Savages might be gearing up to release their sophomore record this winter, but that’s not all that’s been keeping its members busy. Bassist Ayşe Hassan, who’s easily the UK band’s secret weapon behind frontwoman Jehnny Beth, has been tinkering with the side project Kite Base, a quieter outfit shared with Kendra Frost. “Miracle Waves” is their second single together, and while it lands far from Savages’ brutal punch, it carries muscle of its own in its twin bass lines, vocal harmonies, and sparse drum machine beat. Here’s a band that really sounds like a duo, with each member playing to the other’s strengths in equal measure.–Sasha Geffen

Personalized Stories

Around The Web