Explosions in the Sky announce new album, The Wilderness, share “Disintegration Anxiety” — listen

Post-rock maestros' first non-soundtrack LP in five years lands in April


    This spring, Explosions in the Sky are set to return with a new album titled The Wilderness. Spanning nine tracks, the Temporary Residence release serves as their first non-soundtrack LP since 2011’s Take Care, Take Care, Take Care and sixth overall. For the LP, the post-rock outfit called on veteran John Congleton (St. Vincent, Spoon) for additional production duties, marking the first time they’ve collaborated with an outside producer.

    According to an official statement, Explosions in the Sky explore “the infinite unknown, utilizing several of the band’s own definitions of “space” (outer space, mental space, physical geography of space) as compositional tools.” Fans can expect a record where “shoegaze, electronic experimentation, punk damaged dub, noise, and ambient folk somehow coexist without a hint of contrivance.”

    Ahead of the album’s April 1st due date, the band has unfurled lead single “Disintegration Anxiety”. Though it finds Explosions in the Sky revisiting their penchant for swelling atmospherics, the track also packs a newfound sense of urgency and feverishness.

    Check it out below.

    The Wilderness Artwork:

    explosions the sky wilderness new album cover Explosions in the Sky announce new album, The Wilderness, share Disintegration Anxiety    listen

    The Wilderness Tracklist:
    01. Wilderness
    02. The Ecstatics
    03. Tangle Formations
    04. Logic of a Dream
    05. Disintegration Anxiety
    06. Losing the Light
    07. Infinite Orbit
    08. Colors in Space
    09. Landing Cliffs


Personalized Stories

Around The Web