Guns N’ Roses confirm reunion lineup

Axl, Slash, and Duff will be joined by members of GNR's Chinese Democracy-era lineup

Guns N Roses

After two decades, Guns N’ Roses’ classic lineup will reunite to headline the 2016 Coachella Music Festival. According to a press release, Axl Rose will be joined by Slash on guitar and Duff McKagan on bass.

The rest of the reunion lineup was not specified in the press release, though multiple reports indicate that the trio will be joined by members of GNR’s Chinese Democracy-era lineup, specifically keyboardist Dizzy Reed, multi-instrumentalist Chris Pitman, rhythm guitarist Richard Fortus, and drummer Frank Ferrer.

Neither guitarist Izzy Stradlin nor drummers Steven Adler and Matt Sorum are believed to have a prominent role in the reunion tour, though guest appearances are certainly possible. Stradlin has previously expressed disinterest in participating in such an extensive tour, while Adler’s longterm battle with drugs is undoubtedly the reason for his omission. Consequence of Sound previously reported Sorum’s involvement in the reunion, though it appears his poor relationship with Axl led to Ferrer behind the kit instead.

Along with Coachella, the reunited Guns N’ Roses are expected to perform in football stadiums across the US this summer. More details will be announced shortly.

Latest Stories