Shearwater share expansive new song “Only Child” — listen

Jet Plane and Oxbow hits shelves later this month


    On January 22nd, Shearwater will return with their first album of new music since 2012’s Animal Joy. Titled Jet Plane and Oxbow, the Sub Pop release was recorded in Los Angeles and the band’s Austin hometown over the course of two years.

    Danny Reisch (Okkervil River, Wye Oak) oversaw the production and engineering, and the album counts Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner, Abram Shook, Howard Draper, Lucas Oswald, Jesca Hoop, and film composer Brian Reitzell (Lost in Translation, The Virgin Suicides) as guest collaborators. Shearwater consider it their loudest output to date, as well as “strangely, their most intricate and beautiful one.”

    Previously, we heard the driving lead single “Quiet Americans”. Now, the Texas outfit has unpacked “Only Child”, a cut that’s expansive and affecting in equal measure.


    Stream it below.

    Jet Plane and Oxbow Tracklist:
    01. Prime
    02. Quiet Americans
    03. A Long Time Away
    04. Backchannels
    05. Filaments
    06. Pale Kings
    07. Only Child
    08. Glass Bones
    09. Wildlife In America
    10. Radio Silence
    11. Stray Light At Clouds Hill

Personalized Stories

Around The Web