Stream: David Bowie’s new album ★ (Blackstar)

Music legend's 26th studio album "is as Bowie as they come"


    Today, David Bowie releases his new album, ★ (Blackstar), via ISO/Columbia Records. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available through Apple Music.

    His 26th (!) studio LP to date, ★ follows 2013’s The Next Day and was co-produced by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti. Its seven tracks were said to be inspired by Kendrick Lamar and Death Grips, and feature additional percussion from LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy.

    (Read: David Bowie Will Never Die: Decoding the Icon Who Fell to Earth)


    Along with previously issued singles “‘Tis A Pity She Was A Whore” and “Sue (Or In A Season of Crime)”, the full-length includes a single called “Lazarus”, which shares its name with the off-Broadway production Bowie co-wrote and contributed music to.

    In her glowing review of the album, Sasha Geffen writes:

    “It would have been so easy for Bowie to make Next Day after Next Day, to satisfy the nostalgists with carefully measured Bowie rock. But Bowie has always been more of a pose than a sound, and to see him fall into complacency would disrupt his cultural standing more than any deviation from his formula. is a battle cry against boredom, a wide-eyed drama set in a world just beyond our scopes. It doesn’t get more Bowie than that.”

    Purchase a copy of the album here.


    (Read: A Beginner’s Guide to David Bowie)

    ★ Tracklist:
    01. Blackstar
    02. ‘Tis A Pity She Was a Whore
    03. Lazarus
    04. Sue (Or In a Season of Crime)
    05. Girl Loves Me
    06. Dollar Days
    07. I Can’t Give Everything Away

Personalized Stories