Over 100 people contributed to the making of Kanye West’s The Life of Pablo

The full list of guest vocals, writers, and producers has been revealed


    Whether or not we’ll ever hear a completed version of The Life of Pablo, let alone be able to purchase it, remains to be seen. However, tonight. Kanye West shared the full writing and production credits for his seventh solo album. To say it was collaborative effort would be an understatement.

    Among the artist who leant vocals to the album: André 3000 (“30 Hours”), Kendrick Lamar (“No More Parties in L.A.”), Chance the Rapper (“Ultralight Beam”), Frank Ocean (“Wolves”), Kid Cudi (“Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1”, “Waves), The Weeknd (“FML”), Kirk Franklin (“Ultralight Beam”), and The-Dream (“Ultralight Beam”, “Highlights”. Donnie Trumpet of The Social Experiment played, yep — trumpet on “Ultralight Beam”.

    Chance the Rapper also aided in the writing of five tracks: “Ultralight Beam”, “Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1”, “Famous”, “Feedback”, and “Waves”. Other notable songwriting credits include Drake (“30 Hours”, “FACTS”), Alison Goldfrapp (“Freestyle 4”), Pharrell (“30 Hours”), Ghostface Killah (“No More Parties in L.A.”), and Future (“FACTS”).


    Rick Rubin, who helmed Kanye’s previously album Yeezus, is listed as the co-executive producer ofThe Life of Pablo. Rubin also assisted in the production of several individual tracks including “Ultralight Beam”, “Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1”, and “Pt. 2”. The album also features production from Madlib (“No More Parties in L.A.”), Metro Boomin (“Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1”, “Waves”, “FML”, “FACTS”), Boi-1da (“Real Friends”), Hudson Mohawke (“Freestyle 4”, “Waves”), and Swizz Beatz (“Ultralight Beam”).

    The Life of Pablo was recorded in New York York City; Los Angeles and Santa Monica, California; Punta Mita; and Mexico, Florence, Italy. Kanye’s two children, North and Saint, are credited as “Creative Consultants.”

    All in all, well over 100 people contributed to the album, as Pigeons and Planes points out. Find the complete list of credits on Kanye’s website, and read Philip Cosores’ review of the album.


    The Life of Pablo Tracklist:
    01. Ultralight Beam (feat. Chance the Rapper, Kirk Franklin, The-Dream, Kelly Price, and Donnie Trumpet)
    02. Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1 (feat. Kid Cudi)
    03. Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 2 (feat. Desiigner and Caroline Shaw)
    04. Famous (feat. Rihanna and Swizz Beatz)
    05. Feedback
    06. Low Lights
    07. Highlights (feat. Young Thug, The-Dream, and Kelly Price)
    08. Freestyle 4 (feat. Desiigner)
    09. I Miss the Old Kanye
    10. Waves (feat. Chris Brown and Kid Cudi)
    11. FML (feat. The Weeknd)
    12. Real Friends (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)
    13. Wolves (feat. Frank Ocean and Caroline Shaw)
    14. Silver Surfer Intermission
    15. 30 Hours (feat. André 3000)
    16. No More Parties in L.A. (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
    17. FACTS (Charlie Heat Version)
    18. Fade (feat. Post Malone and Ty Dolla $ign)

Around The Web