Black Mountain share fierce new song “Florian Saucer Attack” — listen

Our second preview of the Vancouver outfit's forthcoming IV album


    Photo by Magdalena Wosinska

    Next month, Black Mountain is expected to return with new album IV. Produced by Randall Dunn (Sunn O))) and Marissa Nadler), the Jagjaguwar release follows 2010’s Polaris Music Prize-nominated Wilderness Heart.

    The forthcoming LP serves as an “unapologetically ambitious record made by a group of musicians who are at the peak of their powers,” according to an official statement, which also cites AC/DC, King Krimson, and Kraftwerk as influences. Drummer Joshua Wells also notes how important a role space plays on IV.

    “It’s like painting,” he says. “All sound colour. And space is really important. People think of us as this heavy rock band – and we are sometimes – but it has to be tempered with space. There has to be these emotional cues. It’s not just about rocking out.”


    In January, we heard two brief teasers of the forthcoming record, and last month brought with it lead single “Mothers of the Sun”. Today, the band has broken off another track in the fiery “Florian Saucer Attack”, which can be heard below via its fun, animated music video.

    The Vancouver alt rockers will hit the road for a lengthy spring tour across Europe and North America to promote the LP; find their full itinerary here.

    IV Tracklist:
    01. Mothers Of The Sun
    02. Florian Saucer Attack
    03. Defector
    04. You Can Dream
    05. Constellations
    06. Line Them All Up
    07. Cemetery Breeding
    08. (Over And Over) The Chain
    09. Crucify Me
    10. Space To Bakersfield