New Elliott Smith tribute album features J. Mascis, Lou Barlow, Sun Kil Moon, more

Yuck, Waxahatchee, and Jesu also honor the late singer-songwriter


    A number of indie music’s finest are coming together to pay homage to Elliott Smith with a new tribute album on October 14th.

    Titled Say Yes! A Tribute to Elliott Smith, the 15-track collection sees artists like J. Mascis, Waxahatchee, Lou Barlow, Juliana Hatfield, and Yuck tackle songs from across the late singer-songwriter’s discography. The American Laundromat Records release also features a collaborative cover of “Condor Avenue” by Jesu and Sun Kil Moon. That’s the artwork above.

    Below, check out Hatfield’s rendition of “Needle in the Hay”. The track is the only non-exclusive cover on Say Yes! (it had originally appeared on American Laundromat’s 2014 Wes Anderson tribute LP).


    For more information on Say Yes!, including pre-order bundles in CD, LP, cassette, and digital formats, head here.

    Just last month, the soundtrack to Smith documentary Heaven Adores You hit stores, highlighted by previously unheard demos and rarities.


    Say Yes! A Tribute to Elliott Smith Tracklist (alphabetized by song):
    01. Waxahatchee – “Angeles”
    02. Julien Baker – “Ballad Of Big Nothing”
    03. Tanya Donelly – “Between The Bars”
    04. Yuck – “Bled White”
    05. Jesu/Sun Kil Moon – “Condor Ave”
    06. Lou Barlow – “Division Day”
    07. Wild Sun – “Easy Way Out”
    08. Tomo Nakayama – “Miss Misery”
    09. Juliana Hatfield – “Needle In The Hay”
    10. Caroline Says – “No Name #3”
    11. Adam Franklin – “Oh Well, Okay”
    12. Amanda Palmer – “Pictures Of Me”
    13. William Fitzsimmons – “Say Yes”
    14. Escondido – “Waltz #1”
    15. J. Mascis – “Waltz #2”

Personalized Stories

Around The Web