Stream: Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori’s solo debut, New Misery

The 11-track record to be released officially on March 18th


    Former Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori will release his debut solo album, New Misery, next week. Though the album isn’t set to drop until March 18th, it’s streaming in full below (via Stereogum).

    Though Omori was at first tentative about going solo following Smith Westerns’ dissolution, worried about the challenge of separating himself creatively from the once-buzzing band. Instead, he channeled all that anxiety into songs like the swirling “Sour Silk” and the shimmering hooks of “Cinnamon”.

    “In my mind I really wrote an album that, if I was in Smith Westerns, would essentially be all the singles,” Omori told BEAT Magazine about creating New Misery. “I went through a real big phase of not really knowing what I wanted to do or who I was gonna be. The tracklisting is almost exactly in the order that I wrote the songs. I started with ‘No Big Deal’ and ended with ‘New Misery’ from a writing standpoint. It’s kind of a cool long form statement – this is what I am or was dealing with during my time after being in that buzz band.”


    Take a listen to the whole album via the YouTube playlist below. Pre-orders are ongoing.

    New Misery Tracklist:
    01. No Big Deal
    02. Two Kinds
    03. Hey Girl
    04. And Yet the World Still Turns
    05. Cinnamon
    06. Poison Dart
    07. Sour Silk
    08. Synthetic Romance
    09. Be a Man
    10. LOM
    11. New Misery