Cannes Film Festival unveils 2016 lineup

Featuring Woody Allen, Jeff Nichols, Nicholas Winding Refn, and Andrea Arnold


    The Cannes Film Festival has announced the lineup for its 69th edition, set to take place May 11th – 22nd in Cannes, France.

    Festival director Thierry Fremaux and president Pierre Lescure unveiled the star-studded bill this morning in Paris. Among the major highlights are new films by Woody Allen (Cafe Society), Jeff Nichols (Loving), Nicolas Winding Refn (The Neon Demon), Sean Penn (The Last Face), Andrea Arnold (American Honey), and Xavier Dolan (It’s Only the End of the World).

    Steven Spielberg’s Roald Dahl adaptation The BFG, Jodie Foster’s star-studded Money Monster, and Shane Black’s ’70s buddy cop action-comedy The Nice Guys will screen ahead of their stateside releases.


    Director Jim Jarmusch returns with two films: the Adam Driver-starring Paterson and the Iggy Pop doc Gimme Danger. Also of note is Paul Verhoeven’s French psychological thriller Elle, in addition to Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne’s The Unknown Girl.

    “We saw 1,869 features films to obtain a selection of 49 films,” Fremaux explained. “Last year, it was 1,850, 1,830 the year before, 1,500 in 2010 and 1,000 10, 15 years ago. With the digital era the number of films we receive increases each year. The democratic principle on which Cannes is based that everyone has the right to send a film and it will be screened. Out of these 1,869 films, not all were brilliant but they were all screened.”

    Among the 49 films picked for the official selection, 28 countries were represented, including French director Bruno Dumond’s Slack Bay, German director Marie Ade’s Toni Erdmann, Filipino director Kleber Mendonça Filho’s Aquarius, Romanian director Cristian Mungiu’Family Photos, Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar’s Julieta, and many more.


    This year, the festival’s jury will be presided by Mad Max director George Miller, while Japanese director Naomi Kawase will oversee the short film and student competition jury. For the first time in the festival’s history, the closing film will be the winner of the Palme d’Or, which Fremaux hopes will keep more critics in town.

    Consult the lineup below:

    Official Selection for the 69th Cannes International Film Festival

    Opening Film: Cafe Society, director: Woody Allen (out of competition)

    American Honey, director: Andrea Arnold
    Aquarius, director: Kleber Mendonça Filho
    Daniel Blake, director: Ken Loach
    Elle, director: Paul Verhoven
    Family Photos, director: Cristian Mungiu
    From the Land of the Moon, director: Nicole Garcia
    Gimme Danger, director: Jim Jarmusch (out of competition)
    Goksung, director: Na Hong-Jin (out of competition)
    It’s Only the End of the World, director: Xavier Dolan
    Julieta, director: Pedro Almodovar
    Loving, director: Jeff Nichols
    Ma Rosa, director: Brillante Mendoza
    Money Monster, director: Jodie Foster (out of competition)
    Paterson, director: Jim Jarmusch
    Personal Shopper, director: Olivier Assayas
    Sieranevada, director: Cristi Puiu
    Slack Bay, director: Bruno Dumond
    Staying Vertical, director: Alain Guiraudie
    The BFG, director: Steven Spielberg (out of competition)
    The Handmaid, director: Park Chan Wook
    The Last Face, director: Sean Penn
    The Neon Demon, director: Nicholas Winding Refn
    The Nice Guys, director: Shane Black (out of competition)
    The Unknown Girl, directors: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
    Toni Erdmann, director: Marie Ade

    Un Certain Regard
    Apprentice, director: Junfeng Boo
    After The Storm, director: Hirokazu Kore-Eda
    Beyond the Mountains and Hills, director: Eran Kolirin
    Captain Fantastic, director: Matt Ross
    Clash, director: Mohamed Diab
    Dogs, director: Bogdan Mirica
    Francisco Sanctis’s Long Night, directors: Francisco Marquez, Andrea Testa
    Harmonium, director: Koji Fukada
    Inversion, director: Behnam Behzadi
    Pericle Il Nero, director: Stefano Mordini
    Personal Affairs, director: Maha Haj
    Red Turtle, director: Michael Dudok de Wit
    The Dancer, director: Stéphanie di Giusto
    The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki, director: Juho Kuosmanen
    The Stopover, directors: Delphine Coulin, Muriel Coulin
    The Student, director: Kirill Serebrennikov
    The Transfiguration, director: Michael O’Shea


    Special Screenings (out of competition)
    Exil, director: Rithy Panh
    Hissein Habre, a Chadian Tragedy, director: Mahamet-Saleh Haroun
    The Cancer, director: Paul Vecchiali
    The Last Days of Louis XIV, director: Albert Serra
    The Last Resort, directors: Thanos Anastopoulos, Davide del Degan