Mark Pritchard shares glowing new song “Under the Sun” — listen

Radiohead affiliate was inspired in part by Mother Goose and her nursery rhymes


    Mark Pritchard’s forthcoming album Under the Sun features a handful of special guests, including Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke, who appears on “Beautiful People”. Another outside contributor who factors heavily into the LP is none other than Mother Goose. The fabled author of nursery rhymes leaves her mark on a number of songs, including the glowing, hypnotic title track.

    Pritchard explained further in a statement:

    “When I heard the part that I sampled – (“For every evil under the sun, There is a remedy, or there is none, If there be one, try and find it, If there be none, never mind it.”) which is from The Mother Goose Nursery Rhyme dating back to 1700’s. I knew straight away that i wanted to chop it up. This was the 3rd time i had tried it and it was a important moment in the album’s journey as it tied a few tracks into the album, ie “Beautiful People”, “Rebel Angels” and “Cycles of 9″. I also love the sentiment of the words and the music has that other-worldly feel of early Disney film music, of which i’m a big fan. I did consider trying to get Julie Andrews to re-sing it, as she was here in Sydney for a while, but in the end we managed to clear the sample.”

    The new album is set to drop on May 13th through Warp Records. For more, check out lead single “Sad Alron”.


    Under the Sun Tracklist:
    01. ?
    02. Give It Your Choir feat. Bibio
    03. Infrared
    04. Falling
    05. Beautiful People feat. Thom Yorke
    06. Where Do They Go, The Butterflies
    07. Sad Alron
    08. You Wash My Soul feat. Linda Perhacs
    09. Cycles Of 9
    10. Hi Red
    11. Ems
    12. The Blinds Cage feat. Beans
    13. Dawn Of The North
    14. Khufu
    15. Rebel Angels
    16. Under The Sun

Personalized Stories

Around The Web