Ryan Adams announces Heartbreaker deluxe reissue, shares “Locked Away” outtake — listen

The alternative country singer's debut record will rerelease on May 6th


    Ryan Adams has announced a deluxe reissue of his seminal debut solo album, Heartbreaker. Due out May 6th through Adams’ own Paxam Records, the reissue will be available as either a four-LP/DVD box set or a two-CD/DVD package, each featuring the original fifteen tracks remastered alongside 20 bonus outtakes and demos.

    Amongst the previously unreleased material are outtakes of classics like “To Be Young (Is To be Sad, Is To Be High)” and “Oh My Sweet Carolina”, as well as an early version of “When The Rope Gets Tight” and the French bonus track “Goodbye Honey”.

    The included DVD, meanwhile, is a full concert film of Adams performing acoustically at New York City’s Mercury Lounge in October 2000. It was during this show that he performed his much beloved cover of Oasis’ “Wonderwall” for the very first time. All of this will be packaged with a glossy booklet containing previously unseen photos and liner notes from Heartbreaker producer and Adams’ frequent collaborator Ethan Johns.


    After disbanding Whiskeytown, Heartbreaker was Adams’s chance to start afresh and saw him collaborating with Gillian Welch’s longtime musical parter Dave Rawlings. The record received universal critical acclaim, but spawned no singles and failed to chart in the states. However, it later went on to gain seminal status and cemented Adams as the alternative country musician with a passionate following that he is today.

    As a preview Adams has released a never-before-heard outtake called “Locked Away”. Check it out below

    Watch a teaser for the reissue below, followed by a look at the vinyl packaging and the tracklist. Pre-orders are ongoing.


    ryan adams heartbreaker reissue

    Heartbreaker Deluxe Box Set Reissue Tracklist: 

    Side 1
    01. Argument With David Rawlings Concerning Morrissey
    02. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
    03. My Winding Wheel
    04. Amy – Album Version


    Side 2
    01. Oh My Sweet Carolina
    02. Bartering Lines
    03. Call Me On Your Way Back Home
    04. Damn, Sam (I Love A Woman That Rains)

    Side 3
    01. Come Pick Me Up
    02. To Be The One
    03. Why Do They Leave?
    04. Shakedown On 9th Street

    Side 4
    01. Don’t Ask For The Water
    02. In My Time Of Need
    03. Sweet Lil Gal (23rd/1st)


    Side 5
    01. Hairdresser On Fire – Outtake *
    02. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High) – Outtake *
    03. Petal In A Rainstorm – Outtake *
    04. War Horse – Outtake *
    05. Oh My Sweet Carolina – Outtake *

    Side 6
    01. Come Pick Me Up – Outtake
    02. Punk Jam – Outtake *
    03. When The Rope Gets Tight – Alternate Take *
    04. When The Rope Gets Tight – Outtake
    05. Goodbye Honey
    06. In My Time Of Need – Outtake *

    Side 7
    01. Bartering Lines – Demo
    02. Come Pick Me Up – Demo
    03. To Be The One – Demo
    04. Don’t Ask For The Water – Demo
    05. In My Time Of Need – Demo


    Side 8
    01. Goodbye Honey – Demo
    02. Petal In A Rainstorm – Demo
    03. War Horse – Demo
    04. Locked Away – Outtake

    DVD – Live at The Mercury Lounge

    01. Oh My Sweet Carolina
    02. Gimme Sunshine
    03. Banter
    04. To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
    05. AMY
    06. Banter
    07. Call Me On Your Way Back Home
    08. Banter
    09. Just Like A Whore
    10. Wonderwall (Fragment)
    11. Wonderwall (Complete Song)
    12. Banter
    13. Damn, Sam (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
    14. Sweet Lil’ Gal (23rd / 1st)
    15. Come Pick Me Up
    16. My Winding Wheel

    * = Previously unreleased

Personalized Stories