James Blake’s new album The Colour in Anything is being released tonight

Plus, he shares three new songs "Radio Silence", "I Need a Forest Fire" featuring Justin Vernon, and "My Willing Heart"


    Photo by Debi Del Grande

    James Blake appeared on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show this afternoon and came bearing some very exciting news. His brand new album, now titled The Colour in Anything, will be released in full tonight at approximately 6:00 p.m. CT. Update: Stream/download the album here.

    Additionally, he premiered a pair of new songs, “Radio Silence” and “I Need a Forest Fire” featuring Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. Of the former, Blake said it was the first written for the record and originally was supposed to be the title track. Atmospheric at every turn, it’s highlighted by layers of morose piano, growling bass, and bouts of surging synths. “I can’t believe this, you don’t want to see me,” he can be heard lamenting. This cavernous melancholy continues to permeate throughout “I Need a Forest Fire”, with Vernon’s unmistakeable vocals ringing out like a siren.

    Stream both below. Update: He’s released a third track called “My Willing Heart” and revealed the full tracklist.


    The Colour in Anything Tracklist:
    01. Radio Silence
    02. Points
    03. Love Me in Whatever Way
    04. Timeless
    05. F.O.R.E.V.E.R.
    06. Put That Away and Talk to Me
    07. I Hope My Life (1-800 Mix)
    08. Waves Know Shores
    09. Choose Me
    10. I Need a Forest Fire (feat. Justin Vernon)
    11. Noise Above Our Heads
    12. The Colour in Anything
    13. My Willing Heart
    14. Two Men Down
    15. Modern Soul
    16. Always
    17. Meet You in the Maze

    Elsewhere in the episode, Blake confirmed that those new murals by Roald Dahl illustrator Sir Quentin Blake (seen below) are indeed the artwork for the LP. The UK crooner also noted that renowned producer Rick Rubin helped him during the recording sessions.

Personalized Stories

Around The Web