Stream: Mutual Benefit’s new album Skip a Sinking Stone

Jordan Lee returns with the follow-up to 2013's Love's Crushing Diamond


    On May 20th, singer-songwriter Jordan Lee, aka Mutual Benefit, will put out his new album Skip a Sinking Stone. In anticipation, the Mom+Pop release is streaming in full below courtesy of

    The 12-track effort follows Lee’s 2013 debut, Love’s Crushing Diamond, and came together in two parts. The first half was written as Lee was on the road following the release of Love’s Crushing Diamond and thus finds Lee joyously exploring new friends, collaborations, fans, and a budding romance. The second half was written when Lee had settled in New York, for the first time given the space and money to work full-time on making music. Not only was Lee unusually still during this time, but the city around him was increasingly angry, disheartening, and chaotic, especially following the Eric Garner verdict. Plus, his relationship was in trouble.

    “I kept coming back to how nice that was, throwing these stones against the water,” Lee said of the album’s title and themes in a press release. “I thought it was a fitting metaphor for the endeavors I have in my life — sometimes they work out and sometimes they don’t. I think it’s a good exercise in accepting impermanence and failure and these things that are constant, and yet the activity of skipping stones is really relaxing and beautiful.”


    Skip a Sinking Stone, one of the year’s most anticipated full-lengths, was preceded by early offerings “The Hereafter”, “Lost Dreamers”, and “Not for Nothing”.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    Skip a Sinking Stone Tracklist:
    01. Madrugada
    02. Skipping Stones
    03. Closer Still
    04. Lost Dreamers
    05. Getting Gone
    06. Not for Nothing
    07. Nocturne
    08. Slow March
    09. Many Returns
    10. City Sirens
    11. Fire Escape
    12. The Hereafter