Stream: Tom Petty-led Mudcrutch’s new album 2

Pre-Heartbreakers outfit returns with first release in 10 years later


    On May 20th, MudcrutchTom Petty’s pre-Heartbreakers band, will release their new album, 2. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in its entirety below courtesy of

    Due out through Reprise, 2 is the long-awaited sophomore album from Mudcrutch following 2008’s self-titled record. It features seven Petty-penned tracks and four written by each of the band’s other members (Mike Campbell, Tom Leadon, Randall Marsh, and Benmont Tench).

    In an interview with Sirius XM radio, Petty described 2, saying, “This one’s more of a proper record but it’s a lot of fun, too.” He also talked about the prolific recording sessions and the potential for a yet another Mudcrutch album:

    “I didn’t have a lot of songs but as the album went on I came up with more songs. So we recorded 19 or 20 and pretty much finished them. And then at the end of the day we picked the 11 that made the nicest album. So we really did a lot more than one album’s worth of stuff but I’m sure that still will appear down the road.”


    The new album was preceded by early singles “Trailer” and “Beautiful World”.

    Pre-order the album here.

    Mudcrutch 2 Tracklist:
    01. Trailer
    02. Dreams of Flying
    03. Beautiful Blue
    04. Beautiful World
    05. I Forgive It All
    06. The Other Side of the Mountain
    07. Hope
    08. Welcome to Hell
    09. Save Your Water
    10. Victim of Circumstance
    11. Hungry No More