The Strokes unveil third new song “Threat of Joy” — listen

Another cut off the band's upcoming Future Present Past EP

The Strokes // Photo by Carlo Cavaluzzi

    Photo by Carlo Cavaluzzi

    As promised, The Strokes have now revealed all three brand new songs off their forthcoming Future Present Past EP. Following this morning’s one-two punch of “OBLIVIUS” and “Drag Queen” comes “Threat of Joy”, which was premiered across the pond just moments ago on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 program.

    A bright, jangly jam, it hearkens back to The Strokes’ earliest material. Stream it below.

    In a brief interview with Annie Mac, frontman Julian Casablancas said a new Strokes album was a possibility “if the collective will can be summoned and corralled.” So, take that for what it is.


    Future Present Past is due out June 3rd via frontman Julian Casablancas’ newly relaunched Cult Records. In addition to the three original tracks, there’s a remix of “OBLIVIUS” by drummer Fab Moretti. Pre-orders are already live over at Cult Records’ official website.

    Future Present Past Tracklist:
    01. Drag Queen
    02. Oblivius
    03. Threat of Joy
    04. Oblivius (Moretti Remix)