Top 10 Songs of the Week (6/24)

Here are the new tracks that we've had on repeat all week long


    As if he somehow could transcendentally meditate his way into our innermost dreams, David Lynch announced this week that he’ll be organizing his very own festival. Pretty rad! A few of us have already lined up for tickets. The musicians announced for the Festival of Disruption include some amazing performers (seriously, Angelo Badalamenti? Seriously?), but that doesn’t mean we won’t be constantly on the lookout for other artists that would fit into Lynch’s world. While that’s not the case with all of the artists on this list, they all have their own dramatic, theatrical, or epic quality, so read on and think of it as our own little festival of the mind.

    10. 2ToneDisco feat. Ducky – “Tummy Treasures”


    Burgers, doughnuts, popcorn, dim sum, and sushi are just a few of the global “Tummy Treasures” celebrated on 2ToneDisco’s quirky, new synth-laden offering. Comprised of Los Angelinos Omni Rutledge and James Campbell, the duo’s production palette has much in common with the UK’s divisive PC Music collective. As showcased around the 1:55 mark of the Ducky-featuring single, 2ToneDisco amplify the groove with some keytar-influenced riffage. It’s light, infectious, easy-going, and goes well with any drink accompanied with an umbrella — just like the best of a summer day. Better yet, it’s available now as a free download. —Derek Staples


    09. Ian William Craig – “A Single Hope”

    ian william craig

    Given Ian William Craig’s cathartic and tense Bandcamp recordings, it comes as a surprise that he’s not a movie score producer. Set to release his upcoming album, Centres, via 13071, Craig has released the first single, “A Single Hope”. Sticking to his moody modus operandi, the song features a sweeping montage of feathery and longing falsettos that segue with tension between languid and vast soundscapes with the songwriter’s haunting vocals. Even when absent of strings or symphonies, it’s reminiscent of a momentous opera suite with a lament but brooding drone that expands, leaving Craig gasping up for air. —Alejandra Ramirez


    08. Jaunt – “Hello”

    jaunt hello

    Beginning as a duo in 2014 as a DIY experiment, Jaunt stretched to include three others to form a quintet in Toronto. While the group have ditched their bedroom sensibilities, they still brandish a dose of breezy pop flourishes. Set to release their new EP, Chat, later this summer, the five-piece have teased the six-song collection with “Hello” serving as the follow-up for the languid “Gentle Reminder”. Brief and catchy, a testament to their pop leanings, “Hello” coalesces shimmering guitar sweeps with dulcet falsettos and boom-bap percussion. It’s a perfect summer song with its sunshine melodies and buoyant but smooth choruses that crescendo into an unresolved tension, ending just before it could say hello. —Alejandra Ramirez


    07. Dinosaur Jr. – “Tiny”

    Dinosaur Jr. // Photo by Nina Corcoran

    Photo by Nina Corcoran

    When they get a few decades into their careers, some rockers struggle to keep churning out compelling, fun tunes. But it’s kind of hard to imagine J Mascis having a lot of difficulty with anything — he’s just so damn chill, as evidenced by his sweet voice, breezy hair, and the affectless look on his face when he rips a sick solo. And, wouldn’t you know it, that easy-going attitude seems to have been matched by his dog, Beefy, who joins him in some skate park shenanigans and band practice for the video to “Tiny”. The song’s a classic Dinosaur Jr. jam, Murph smacking out a mid-tempo beat and Lou Barlow chugging away at the bass, leaving plenty of romo for Mascis to do his rock god thing over the top. This one’s worth a few repeat listens while you track down your local animal shelter in search of your own skateboarding buddy — not to mention while you wait for Give Me a Glimpse of What Yer Not, due August 5th via Jagjaguwar. –Adam Kivel


    06. Arc Iris – “Kaleidoscope”

    Arc Iris

    The trio behind Arc Iris — Jocie Adams, Zach Tenorio-Miller, and Ray Belli — are magicians in dynamics and sonic textures. Just as a kaleidoscope uses mirrors and simplistic, colored objects to astound the eyes, Arc Iris fuse the sounds of classical strings, psychedelic percussive rolls, electronics, timeless guitar tones, and enchanting harmonics to create a sound far larger and more encompassing than its singular elements. The group seems to imbue “Kaleidoscope”, pulled from their forthcoming Moon Saloon LP (out 8/19 via Bella Union), with its own life force, the track experiencing a momentary slow-down around the five-minute point to ready its bombastic final moments. –Derek Staples


    05. Katie Dey – “Fear O’ the Light”

    katie dey

    When Katie Dey released mini-album asdfasdf last year, she presented herself exactly as she pleased: a sugary pop songstress with the volume knobs maxed out, distorting her own work so it sounds like it’s playing from a water-logged cassette tape, creating the illusion of a warped, scary persona. On “Fear O’ the Light”, she embraces those pitch abnormalities that veer towards eeriness all the more. The lead single off her new album — Flood Network due August 12th via Joy Void Recordings — shows she has no signs of slowing down. In fact, she muddles her work all the more, mimicking the sunny, cheerful, loud sounds of spring until it begins to bleed a bit of darkness. Dey creates her own brand of sometimes mad, always inverted pop that overwhelms the sense in blissfully rich ways, and “Fear O’ the Light” maxes that out. —Nina Corcoran


    04. Heart Attack Man – “Surrounded By Morons”

    heart attack man

    For pop punk to survive, those melodies and power chords need to support lyrics listeners can relate to, even if — no, especially if — they’re tongue-in-cheek. If it’s all singing guitars and grunted lines about beer, those bands fade into obscurity. Cleveland, OH, duo Heart Attack Man rise to the challenge on “Surrounded by Morons”. Then again, it’s easy to do so when depression has taken such a hold of you that the world’s most annoying habits begin to look good. “I wanna get stuck in traffic everyday/ And I want to pay three grand in rent/ I never want to see a tree again,” Eric Egan sings. From gurgling sewers to full parking lots to getting a car door straight to the face in a bike lane, the recent Triple Crown Records signees refuse to let up. As Egan scratches his way down the guitar’s neck, the solution becomes clear: Escaping to a new city isn’t the answer. Accepting the unbearable annoyance of life’s petty downsides is. —Nina Corcoran


    03. serpentwithfeet – “flickering”

    serpentwithfeet flickering

    “The cord connecting us two is made of gossamer,” sings Jonah Wise at the open of “flickering”, his debut single for Tri Angle Records under the moniker serpentwithfeet. But even that’s not so simple: “I’m starting to think there’s no cord between us two/ Are we made of gossamer?” Paired with remarkably airy and moonlit production from The Haxan Cloak, serpentwithfeet unravels a tune that’s equally sexy, sad, and challenging. “Take this body as yours/ Don’t let me doubt you,” Wise sings in a remarkably controlled and yet modulated tone. If Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart and Moses Sumney ever joined forces, it might sound a little like this, though any attempt at finding something like serpentwithfeet feels utterly useless. Wise is a unique voice. –Adam Kivel