Dawes announce new LP, We’re All Gonna Die, share lead single “When the Tequila Runs Out” — watch

Acclaimed indie folk band's guest-heavy fifth album features Jim James, Brittany Howard, Lucius, Will Oldham, and Mandy Moore


    Dawes have announced the impending release of their next album, the optimistically titled We’re All Gonna Die. Due out September 16th via their own HUB Records, the band’s fifth album to date follows last year’s All Your Favorite Bands.

    We’re All Gone Die focuses on topics of doubt and sorrow without giving into the morose feelings. “These songs were all written in a very short period of time, very close together,” explained frontman Taylor Goldsmith in a press release. “In that sense, I feel like there was a consistency in mood and outlook our other records don’t have. Pretty much every song on this record explores a difficult situation and tries to find a way to find the good in it, or at least remind yourself that it’s not always that big of a deal. After all, as scary as it is, we are all gonna die.”

    The album was recorded at Los Angeles’ EastWest Studios and Silverlake’s The Boat and produced by Blake Mills (Alabama Shakes’ Sound & Color), who also happens to have been a member of the pre-Dawes band Simon Dawes. Guests on the 10-track effort include Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Lucius frontwomen Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe, Will Oldham, and Mandy Moore.


    Yes, that Mandy Moore.

    Moore and Goldsmith have been dating since her separation from Ryan Adams. She even features in the video for the album’s lead single, “When the Tequila Runs Out”. The track is a distinctly poppy release from the indie folk band, yet it slides in well with the relaxed vibes that make up so much of their catalog. It relies heavily on guitar effects and a catchy chorus plus percussion and MPC work from renowned session musician Jim Keltner, creating a mellow jam for the end of summer. Check it out via the Kevin Hayes-directed video above.

    Pre-orders for We’re All Gonna Die are going on now via Dawes’ online store. You can find the album art and tracklist below.

    We’re All Gonna Die Album Artwork:

    dawes we're all gonna die

    We’re All Gonna Die Tracklist:
    01. One Of Us
    02. We’re All Gonna Die
    03. Roll With The Punches
    04. Picture Of A Man
    05. Less Than Fives Miles Away
    06. Roll Tide
    07. When The Tequila Runs Out
    08. For No Good Reason
    09. Quitter
    10. As If By Design


    Dawes have also revealed an extended list of tour dates, including record release shows in LA and New York. There’s also a handful of in-store acoustic performances scheduled exclusively for those who pre-order We’re All Gonna Die. Find their complete itinerary below.

    Dawes 2016 Tour Dates:
    08/17 – New York, NY @ PBS Front and Center Taping
    08/20 – Albany, NY @ Hart Theatre At The Egg
    08/22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Main Street Music *
    08/23 – Baltimore, MD @ The Sound Garden *
    08/25 – Nashville, TN @ Live On The Green Music Festival
    08/26 – Florence, AL @ Billy Reid Shindig
    08/28 – Tacoma, WA @ Cheneyville Music Festival
    08/29 – Seattle, WA @ Easy Street *
    08/30 – Portland, OR @ Music Millennium *
    08/31 – San Francisco, CA @ Amoeba Berkeley *
    09/15 – Long Beach, CA @ Fingerprints *
    09/16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery ^
    09/19 – New York, NY @ The McKittrick Hotel ^
    09/23 – Peoria, IL @ Limelight
    09/24 – Chicago, IL @ 312 Urban Block Party

    * = In-store acoustic performance
    ^ = Record release show

Personalized Stories

Around The Web