Hamilton Leithauser and Rostam Batmanglij reveal new song “When the Truth Is…” — listen

Indie rock super duo pull from soul, doo-wop, and The-Dream


    On September 23rd, The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser and Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij will release their debut album as Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam. Titled I Had a Dream That You Were Mine, the collaborative effort spans 10 tracks, including today’s teaser, “When the Truth Is…”

    Peppered with doo-wop influences, it’s likely the most soulful cut we’ve heard from the indie rock super duo thus far following “In a Black Out” and “1000 Times”. According to the band, the song was inspired by The-Dream, Aretha Franklin, and Mick Jagger.

    Hear the song up above; read statements from both Leithauser and Batmanglij below.


    “This beat was initially inspired by The-Dream’s demo for the song ‘1+1’ by Beyonce…that demo was never released but you can find it kicking around online. It got me thinking about how much I wanted to make a 6/8 song that really smacked. Hamilton came up with the “would you listen to me now” section the day I played him the beat. A couple weeks later I recorded the slide guitar solo…and pretty quickly we had all these finished sounding sections of a song…still it took about 18 months of passing ideas back and forth both online and in the studio to finish the thing.”



    “I had watched the Muscle Shoals documentary the week before Rostam played me the original beat, and I was really jazzed up on all those soul singers. Percy Sledge, Wilson Picket, and Aretha Franklin (to name just a few) used to just belt it out with their hearts on their sleeves. I wanted to try and imitate them like Mick Jagger used to (or basically any other British singer from the 60’s). The combination of doo-wap, hip hop (groove), and soul was definitely a curveball. This song brought our record into a very different arena, and I’m glad for that.”

    I Had a Dream That You Were Mine Tracklist:
    01. A 1000 Times
    02. Sick as a Dog
    03. Rough Going (I Don’t Let Up)
    04. In a Black Out
    05. Peaceful Morning
    06. When The Truth Is…
    07. You Ain’t That Young Kid
    08. The Bride’s Dad
    09. The Morning Stars
    10. 1959 (feat. Angel Deradoorian)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web