Kehlani wants you to know she is a ride-or-die “Gangsta” — listen

New song is taken from the upcoming Suicide Squad soundtrack

Kehlani // Photo by Amy Price

Photo by Amy Price

Oakland’s own Kehlani has been on a roll lately. Following last month’s “CRZY” and one of May’s best tracks in “24/7”, the R&B singer has now returned with “Gangsta”.

Her contribution to the star-studded Suicide Squad soundtrack, it’s a high-flying anthem to long-lasting, badass friendships. “I need a gangster to love me better than all the others do/ To always forgive me, ride or die with me/ That’s just what gangsters do,” Kehlani sings on the chorus. She possesses a certain otherworldly weightlessness, as though she herself is suspended midair like some kind of Suicide Squad member.

Stream it below via Apple Music.

The Suicide Squad OST arrives Friday, August 5th, the same day as the film hits theaters. It also features the Skrillex and Rick Ross collaboration “Purple Lamborghini”, as well new music from Grimes, The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach and Action Bronson, and Eminem.

Suicide Squad OST Tracklist:
01. Purple Lamborghini – Skrillex & Rick Ross
02. Sucker For Pain – Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors)
03. Heathens – twenty one pilots
04. Standing In The Rain – Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys) (feat. Mark Ronson)
05. Gangsta – Kehlani
06. Know Better – Kevin Gates
07. You Don’t Own Me – Grace (feat. G-Eazy)
08. Without Me – Eminem
09. Wreak Havoc – Skylar Grey
10. Medieval Warfare – Grimes
11. Bohemian Rhapsody – Panic! At The Disco
12. Slippin’ Into Darkness – War
13. Fortunate Son – Creedence Clearwater Revival
14. I Started a Joke – ConfidentialMX (feat. Becky Hanson)