Robin Pecknold guests on Matt Kivel’s new single “Permanence” — watch

LA folk artist also announces new album Fires on the Plain, due out this fall


Photo by Cara Robbins

A bloody boxing match in the desert isn’t exactly what we have in mind when listening to Matt Kivel, the LA folk artist who specializes in meditative, even fragile composition. But here we are with the video for Kivel’s new single “Permanence”, which centers on a bloody fight that we want absolutely no part of (even watching it is kind of tough). The song — not the video, thank god for him — features Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold, who takes his figurative gloves off and does what he does best.

Though Kivel released his latest album, Janus, earlier this year, he’s just announced an ambitious new album entitled Fires on the Plain. It’s due out October 7th via Driftless and features contributions from Pecknold, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, and Sophia Knapp. Check out the artwork and the whopping 26-song tracklist below, after you get nice and pumped watching the video for “Permanence”.

Fires on the Plain Album Artwork:

gr024 fotp albumcover 3500 1024x1024 Robin Pecknold guests on Matt Kivels new single “Permanence”    watch

Fires on the Plain Tracklist:
01. Opening
02. The Water
03. Rock Gods
04. i
05. Thin Blood Lines
06. Velveteen
07. ii
08. Blood River
09. Forgiveness (feat. Bonnie “Prince” Billy)
10. Permanence (feat. Robin Pecknold)
11. iii
12. Wife
13. iv
14. Candy
15. V (feat. Sophia Knapp)
16. Black
17. Whirlpool
18. vi
19. Light Depression
20. Other Shore
21. Gaudette
22. vii
23. Something From Her
24. The Pool
25. Jaws Apart
26. Messiah