Synthpop duo MYZICA want to give love a chance on new single “We Belong Together” — listen

Tennessee two-piece previews its full-length debut


    Artwork by Firelight Hubbard and Megan Thompson

    When it comes to matters of the heart, Nashville synthpop duo MYZICA are cautiously optimistic. They believe in the existence of true love, but don’t necessarily need Disney or Hans Christian Andersen to clue them in on what it’s supposed to look or feel like — it’s all about gut instincts. Singer Isaaca Byrd and producer Micah Tawlks display this particular self-awareness on their latest single, “We Belong Together”, taken from upcoming debut album Love & Desire.

    “Say we belong together, say this will last forever and ever/ No one could love you better,” Byrd sings, her feathery vocals polished with the sparkle of hope and unshakeable sincerity. “This ain’t no fairy tale/ Baby, I can tell that we belong together.” Backing her is a rainbow of synths that glow brightly and reassure; there’s also a hefty helping of funky guitar and bass, which helps to place “We Belong Together” in Carly Rae Jepsen and Dev Hynes’ squad of synthpop (with a hint of Madonna) rather than, say, CHVRCHES’. Byrd even bears the same unwavering honesty as Jepsen, at one point even saying, “Everybody’s got a secret, but I’m an open book.”

    In a statement to Consequence of Sound, Tawlks filled us in on how the song came together (and no, it has nothing to do with Mariah Carey’s 2005 hit of the same name):

    “We’re fortunate to be surrounded by so many talented friends here in Nashville and even more fortunate to get to collaborate with them. We wrote ‘We Belong Together’ with producer/writer, Kevin Dailey (of Civil Twilight) and singer/songwriter, Matthew Perryman Jones. Writing and recording this song was definitely a highlight in making the album and most of that can be attributed to working with these guys…that and the midday tequila we’d share while writing.”


    Stream it below.

    Love & Desire, the follow-up to MYZICA’s 2015 debut EP, arrives on September 9th. For more, hear the title track.

    Love & Desire Tracklist:
    01. Dance Hall Blues
    02. We Belong Together
    03. Love & Desire
    04. Ready Or Not
    05. We Started A Fire
    06. Endless Love
    07. Believer
    08. Wait Just A Minute
    09. Drive (The Cars cover feat. Ezra Carey)
    10. I Will Never