Beastie Boys announce 30th anniversary vinyl reissue of License to Ill

Legendary trio's monumental debut LP is set for a fresh printing


Like me, the debut album from Beastie BoysLicense to Ill turns 30 this year, having first been released on November 15th, 1986. (For reference, I was seven-and-a-half months old at the time.) The record has reached legendary status since that fateful day, having been the first hip-hop album to ever top the Billboard 200 chart, and just last year being certified Diamond by the RIAA for selling over 10 million copies. And those numbers should only go up, because to celebrate the pearl anniversary, License to Ill is being reissued.

Cut from the original production masters, the fresh repressing is due out October 14th. Produced by Rick Rubin and the Beastie Boys themselves, the classic LP features hits like “(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)”, “Brass Monkey”, “No Sleep Till Brooklyn”, “Girls”, and “Hot It Now, Hit It”, here presented on 180-gram vinyl once again.

“The Breakthrough of License to Ill in 1986 paved the road legitimizing Rap to its USA masses, and set the barometer worldwide on the genre album format,” Public Enemy’s Chuck D said in a statement. “This record also expanded HipHop diversity allowing Public Enemy’s ‘Takes A Nation’ to be its antithesis.”

Pre-orders will be going on through the band’s official merch site. The tracklist is below, along with the video for “No Sleep Till Brooklyn”.

License to Ill 30th Anniversary Edition Tracklist:
01. Rhymin & Stealin’
02. The New Style
03. She’s Crafty
04. Posse in Effect
05. Slow Ride
06. Girls
07. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)
08. No Sleep till Brooklyn
09. Paul Revere
10. Hold It Now, Hit It
11. Brass Monkey
12. Slow and Low
13. Time to Get Ill

Latest Stories