Metallica finish work on Hardwired…To Self Destruct, retool album’s tracklist

Deluxe edition has been altered to include cover songs and new live recordings


    Metallica have offered fans an update on their upcoming album Hardwired…To Self Destruct. One of the year’s most anticipated LPs — and the band’s first of all-new material since 2008’s Death Magnetic — is officially ready to be released. “It’s DONE!” reads an excited message on their official website. “We are … looking forward to the next phase of unleashing it to the world, waking the monster that is Metallica.”

    Elsewhere in their post, the heavy metal titans say they’ve decided to swap out the contents of their deluxe edition bonus disc. Previously, it was supposed to contain the riffs that eventually gave rise to Hardwired. Instead, they’ll fill up the third disc with covers, revamped singles, and new live recordings. To be included is an updated version of “Lords of Summer”, originally put out in 2014, as well as “Ronnie Rising Medley”, their tribute to Ronnie James Dio which was previously only available on the Ronnie James Dio – This Is Your Life tribute album.

    Also featured on the bonus disc are covers of Iron Maiden’s “Remember Tomorrow” and Deep Purple’s “When a Blind Man Cries”. Audio culled from two recent live sets — one at Rasputin’s in Berkeley, California this past Record Store Day and the other at Minneapolis’ US Bank Stadium last month — fill out the tracklist.


    Watch the accompanying announcement video starring Lars Ulrich:

    Below, check out the new tracklist and revisit lead single “Hardwired”. The album, which was produced by Ulrich, James Hetfield, and Greg Fidelman (Slayer, Slipknot), officially hits shelves on November 18th. The band will support the release with a September 29th appearance on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

    Hardwired…To Self Destruct Tracklist:
    Disc One
    01. Hardwired
    02. Atlas, Rise!
    03. Now That We’re Dead
    04. Moth Into Flame
    05. Dream No More
    06. Halo On Fire


    Disc Two
    01. Confusion
    02. ManUNkind
    03. Here Comes Revenge
    04. Am I Savage?
    05. Murder One
    06. Spit Out The Bone

    Disc Three (Bonus – Deluxe Edition)
    01. Lords of Summer (2016)
    02. Ronnie Rising Medley (Ronnie James Dio Tribute)
    03. When a Blind Man Cries (Deep Purple Cover)
    04. Remember Tomorrow (Iron Maiden Cover)
    05. Helpless (Live at Rasputin Music)
    06. Hit the Lights (Live at Rasputin Music)
    07. The Four Horsemen (Live at Rasputin Music)
    08. Ride the Lightning (Live at Rasputin Music)
    09. Fade to Black (Live at Rasputin Music)
    10. Jump in the Fire (Live at Rasputin Music)
    11. For Whom the Bell Tolls (Live at Rasputin Music)
    12. Creeping Death (Live at Rasputin Music)
    13. Metal Militia (Live at Rasputin Music)
    14. Hardwired (Live in Minneapolis)