Stream: mc chris’ new album mc chris is Dreaming

Adult Swim affiliate's latest LP was inspired by Freddy Krueger and Stranger Things


    Halloween is still a month away, but nerdcore hip-hop pioneer and longtime Adult Swim voice actor mc chris has been in the haunting mindset for months. And we’re not talking about jack-o’-lanterns and bowls of Snickers — he’s actually written an entire album that’s musically inspired by Stranger Things and thematically focused on horror icon Freddy Krueger. Titled mc chris is Dreaming, it’s due out tomorrow, September 30th.

    “Recently inspired by the retro synth horror films/tv shows like It Follows, The Guest and Stranger Things, I wanted to talk about being plagued by nightmares while at the same paying homage to 80’s horror, specifically the Nightmare on Elm St. series,” mc chris, whose music has been featured in Broad City and Zak and Miri Make a Porno, tells Consequence of Sound. “The result is an hour long epic where we dive deep into the dream world of Freddy Krueger as well as my own subconscious.”

    Gloomy, menacing synths surface in waves throughout the album (“Pop Run”, “Hypnocil”), but it’s mc chris’ high-pitched flow on comic books (of course), gory scenes, and the dream killer himself, Krueger, that takes center stage. “Freddy’s all in your walls, he’s all up in your tub/ He’s got really long arms and he just wants a hug/ He’s made up of maggots and bleeds green slime/ Cleared of all killings, but he’s still serving time,” he rhymes on “Freddy’s Dead”.


    Perhaps no track displays his inner nerd with more force than “mc chris Is the Shit”: “Got more misunderstandings than LEGOLAND got minifigs/ More comics in white boxes they’ll crush me in a quake/ I got more Funko Pops than your mom got funnel cake/ I go at it like Gosling when it’s Eva’s cumpleanos.”

    Ahead of its official release, CoS is streaming the album in full below. Pre-orders for mc chris is Dreaming can be found here.

    MC Chris is Dreaming Artwork:


    MC Chris is Dreaming Tracklist:
    01. MC Chris is Dreaming
    02. Blister Packaging
    03. MC Chris is the Shit
    04. Spanky
    05. Sad Sack
    06. Big Meeting at Netflix
    07. Freddy’s Dead
    08. Dream Warriors
    09. Pop Run
    10. Ditched
    11. Indispensable
    12. Green Light
    13. Muppet Babies
    14. Hypnocil
    15. Scum Licking