Lady Gaga releases new single “A-YO” — listen

The funky, electro-tinged track serves as our third taste of Joanne ahead of the album's October 21st release


    Based on the advanced audio previews, it appears Lady Gaga’s new album Joanne will be a hodgepodge of various genres and sounds. “Perfect Illusion”, her Kevin Parker collaboration, is a driving rock anthem. “Million Reasons”, on the other hand, is a slowed-down country ballad. Today, Gaga let loose a third teaser, a funky electro-tinged track called “A-YO”. Listen below.

    “A-YO” was co-written and co-produced by Gaga, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop along with country music hitmaker Hillary Lindsey.

    Joanne, Gaga’s first new solo album since 2013’s ARTPOP, arrives Friday, October 21st.


    Update: In a new interview with Rolling Stone, Ronson spoke of the album’s numerous collaborators and their specific involvement.

    Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker: “Perfect Illusion” started as a Parker demo called “Illusion”, which “Gaga and Ronson expanded on when they sat down with a piano and guitar, respectively.” Parker plays drums on the track.

    Queens of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme: He is featured on two tracks “Diamond Heart” and “John Wayne”. Ronson reached out to Homme “when he thought the track ‘John Wayne’ needed a guitar part out of a Queens record. Homme wound up playing drums and co-producing.”

    Beck: “Dancin’ in Circles” began when Ronson ran into Beck and invited him to the studio. As Ronson explained, “For Gaga, it was like meeting her idol. Beck is pretty much her favorite influential artist of the past 20 years. She was a fan girl at first.” According to Rolling Stone, “the song morphed from an unplugged Beck song into what Ronson calls ‘classic Gaga, like ‘Alejandro’ and some of the stuff from Fame Monster.'”

    Florence and the Machine’s Florence Welch: “Hey Girl” was conceived at New York’s Electric Lady studio. Ronson described the song as “two girls singing a soul record in the Seventies”.

    Father John Misty: J. Tillman co-wrote “Sinner’s Prayer” and “Hey Girl”, and plays drums on an unspecified track.

    Jonanne Tracklist:
    01. Diamond Heart (feat. Josh Homme, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    02. A-Yo (feat. Mark Ronson, Bloodpop, and Hillary Lindsey)
    03. Joanne (feat. Mark Ronson and Bloodpop)
    04. John Wayne (feat. Josh Homme, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    05. Dancin’ In Circles (feat. Beck, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    06. Perfect Illusion (feat. Josh Homme, Kevin Parker, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    07. Million Reasons (feat. Mark Ronson, Bloodpop, and Hillary Lindsey)
    08. Sinner’s Prayer (feat. Father John Misty, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    09. Come To Mama (feat. Father John Misty, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    10. Hey Girl (feat. Florence and the Machine, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    11. Angel Down (feat. RedOne, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
    12. Grigio Girls (Deluxe Edition Track) (feat. Mark Ronson, Bloodpop, and Hillary Lindsey)
    13. Just Another Day (Deluxe Edition Track)
    14. Angel Down (Work Tape) (Deluxe Edition Track)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web