Stream: Before the Flood score from Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Gustavo Santaolalla, and Mogwai

Dream team compose music for Leonardo DiCaprio's climate change documentary


    Oscar winning composers Trent ReznorAtticus Ross, and Gustavo Santaolalla teamed with post-rock veterans Mogwai to score Before the Flood, a new climate change documentary from Leonardo DiCaprio. Ahead of the film’s October 30th premiere on the National Geographic Channel, its soundtrack is now available to stream/download below via Apple Music.

    With Reznor and Ross serving as the music supervisors, the group worked in tandem to “compose a blend of music with a cohesive vision.” In a recent interview with Beats 1 Radio’s Zane Lowe, Ross said he and Reznor were drawn to the film because of its “higher purpose.” “We knew we were really busy, but we also knew we had to do it,” he explained. “It was a wonderful experience.”


    Before the Flood marks Reznor’s fourth foray into film scoring, though his previous three projects were all for director David Fincher. His music for The Social Network earned him an Oscar for Best Original Score in 2010. A Year later, he picked up the Grammy for Best Score Soundtrack for his work on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. More recently, he scored Gone Girl in 2014.

    In addition to Before the Flood, Reznor and Ross were recently announced to score Patriot’s Day, Peter Berg’s film about the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing starring Mark Wahlberg. Reznor has also teased new music from Nine Inch Nails.

    Santaolalla has won two Academy Awards for Best Score, and in consecutive years no less. He won in 2005 for Brokeback Mountain, and 2006 for Babel. You may also know his music from Netflix’s Making a Murder.


    Mogwai, too, are veterans in film scoring. Earlier this year, they released Atomic, a documentary about the Atomic Bomb

    Before the Flood Soundtrack Tracklist:
    01. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross / Gustavo Santaolalla – “Before the Flood”
    02. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “A Minute to Breathe”
    03. Gustavo Santaolalla / Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “Between Two Poles”
    04. Mogwai – “Dust Bowl”
    05. Gustavo Santaolalla – “Thin Ice”
    06. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “And When the Sky Was Opened”
    07. Mogwai – “Ghost Nets”
    08. Gustavo Santaolalla / Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “Trembling”
    09. Gustavo Santaolalla – “One More Step”
    10. Mogwai -“Huaynaputina”
    11. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross / Gustavo Santaolalla – “At Dusk”
    12. Gustavo Santaolalla / Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “Thin Ice Reimagined”
    13. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “Disappearing Act”
    14. Gustavo Santaolalla – “The Melting Pot”
    15. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “8 Billion”
    16. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “One Perfect Moment”
    17. Trent Reznor / Atticus Ross – “A Minute Later”
    18. Mogwai – “After the Flood”

Personalized Stories

Around The Web