The Melvins, Omar Rodríguez-López, Teri Gender Bender form Crystal Fairy, share debut song — listen

Supergroup will release their debut album early next year


    Four members of some of the heaviest bands around have come together to form a new supergroup. Buzz Osborne and Dale Crover of The Melvins, At The Drive-In’s Omar Rodríguez-López, and Teri Gender Bender of Le Butcherettes have joined forces as Crystal Fairy.

    The seed of the group was planted when Le Butcherettes opened a string of dates with The Melvins, during which the Gender Bender would join the headliners for a cover of Bikini Kill’s “Rebel Girl”. “Omar caught up with us on the Melvins’ tour because he is an admirer,” Gender Bender explained in a statement. “Through the travels, the Melvins and Omar connected as well. Sometimes, Omar and I would fantasize loudly of hopefully being able to form a [group] together. Before we knew it, we were writing music in the studio (both in El Paso and L.A.) and birthed a magical little gem that I am extremely proud to be a part of.”

    That self-titled gem is now set for a February 24th release via Ipecac Recordings. As a first listen to what sort of madness the quartet has created, they’ve shared below single “Drugs on the Bus”. It’s a sludgy rocker exploding with riffs and a sinister stalk. Take a listen below.


    Check out the full Crystal Fairy tracklist below. Ahead of the LP release, a limited-edition 7-inch single featuring “Drugs on the Bus” b/w “Necklace of Divorce” is due out this Monday, October 10th via Amphetamine Reptile.

    Crystal Fairy Tracklist:
    01. Chiseler
    02. Drugs on the Bus
    03. Necklace of Divorce
    04. Moth Tongue
    05. Crystal Fairy
    06. Secret Agent Rat
    07. Under Trouble
    08. Bent Teeth
    09. Posesión
    10. Sweet Self
    11. Vampire X-Mass


Personalized Stories

Around The Web