The Orwells announce new album, share video for “They Put a Body in the Bayou” — watch

Terrible Human Beings arrives in February


    Illinois’ rowdiest garage punks, The Orwells, have announced a new album, Terrible Human Beings. The follow-up to their breakthrough Disgraceland, the 13-track effort is due out February 17th on Canvasback Music.

    In a press release, the band described the album as a collection of “mutilated pop songs.” As frontman Mario Cuomo notes, “We wanted to make songs that at their core are catchy and pretty, then slash them up.” That’s a pretty accurate way to describe the previously released album track “Buddy”, and is even more fitting for new single “They Put a Body in the Bayou”. The verses are set up pretty simply, Cuomo’s lyrics punctuated by sudden shreds of a reverberating guitar. As the bridge begins to take off, however, the whole thing launches into a pretty undeniable hook. Check it out about above via the music video, which sees the band as secret service agents “protecting” a nasty politician.

    Guitarist Matt O’Keefe said Pixies had a strong influence on the recordings. “I think that’s where a lot of trying to make the songs and the guitar parts very simple was coming from, because the Pixies are kings of that,” he explained. “We’ve always been a simple band, but this time it was about trying to keep everything straightforward, nothing flashy.”


    Terrible Human Beings was produced by Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys, Adele) at Chicago’s Electrical Audio studio. Pre-orders for the new LP are ongoing and come with instant downloads of “Buddy” and “They Put a Body in the Bayou.

    The Orwells will preview the record by embarking on an intimate American tour in November.

    Terrible Human Beings Album Artwork:

    unnamed 25 The Orwells announce new album, share video for They Put a Body in the Bayou    watch


    Terrible Human Beings Tracklist:
    01. They Put a Body In the Bayou
    02. Fry
    03. Creatures
    04. Vacation
    05. Black Francis
    06. M.A.D.
    07. Buddy
    08. Hippie Soldier
    09. Heavy Head
    10. Body Reprise
    11. Ring Pop
    12. Last Call
    13. Double Feature