Lin-Manuel Miranda reveals tracklisting for star-studded Hamilton mixtape

Chance the Rapper, The Roots, Sia, Nas, Busta Rhymes, Regina Spektor and more show up on new mixtape


    Photo via Twitter

    Theoretically, it’s possible that there are people out there who are tired of listening to the official cast recording of Hamilton on repeat. If for some inconceivable reason you’re one of those people — or, more likely, you just can’t get enough of the smash Broadway show — you’re in luck, as Lin-Manuel Miranda has announced a Hamilton mixtape. The tape will feature a who’s-who of superstar rappers and musicians reworking the musical’s songs, and Miranda revealed the superstar-packed tracklist on Twitter today.

    The Roots are all over this thing, including collaborations with Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, and Nate Ruess (“My Shot [Rise Up Remix]”); Common and Ingrid Michaelson (“Who Tells Your Stroy”); and even their Tonight Show boss Jimmy Fallon (“You’ll Be Back”). There are also appearances by Chance the Rapper, Francis and the Lights, Regina Spektor, Ben Folds, Nas, Sia, Miguel, and — wait for it — Queen Latifah. All this and the collection features some of Miranda’s original Hamilton demos, too.

    Though the mixtape is made up of Hamilton songs, Black Thought of The Roots told EW the tape isn’t meant to be compared to the original soundtrack. “You can expect [the mixtape] to be as musically dynamic and to include as wide a range of inspirations as the [show],” he said. “But we’re not putting this out for comparison’s sake… they both have a life of their own.”


    The Hamilton Mixtape is available for pre-order tomorrow and is expected to drop on or around December 2nd. Check out Miranda’s tweets followed by the full tracklist below.

    The Hamilton Mixtape Tracklist:
    01. No John Trumbull (Intro) – The Roots
    02. My Shot (Rise Up Remix) – The Roots feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz & Nate Ruess
    03. Wrote My Way Out – Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Aloe Blacc
    04. Wait For It – Usher
    05. An Open Letter (Interlude) – Watsky feat. Shockwave
    06. Satisfied – Sia feat. Miguel & Queen Latifah
    07. Dear Theodosia – Regina Spektor feat. Ben Folds
    08. Valley Forge (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
    09. It’s Quiet Uptown – Kelly Clarkson
    10. That Would Be Enough – Alicia Keys
    11. Immigrants (We Get The Job Done) – K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
    12. You’ll Be Back – Jimmy Fallon & The Roots
    13. Helpless – Ashanti feat. Ja Rule
    14. Take A Break (Interlude) – !llmind
    15. Say Yes To This – Jill Scott
    16. Congratulations – Dessa
    17. Burn – Andra Day
    18. Stay Alive (Interlude) – J.PERIOD & Stro Elliot
    19. Slavery Battle (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
    20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
    21. History Has Its Eyes On You – John Legend
    22. Who Tells Your Story – The Roots feat. Common & Ingrid Michaelson
    23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) – Chance the Rapper & Francis and The Lights