Toro Y Moi announces collaborative album with the Mattson 2, shares “Star Stuff” — listen

Chaz Bundick's fuzzy stylings get jazzed up on the upcoming 2017 LP


    Photo by Lucky Banks-Kenny

    Chaz Bundick, aka Toro Y Moi, has teamed up with jazz two-piece Mattson 2 for a new collaborative album. Aptly titled Chaz Bundick Meets The Mattson 2, it’s due to hit shelves on March 31st via Company.

    Bundick and the San Diego brotherly duo crossed paths back in 2014 at a concert in Oakland. When Jared Mattson (guitar/bass) forgot to pack a drum stool for Jonathan Mattson (drums), Bundick stepped in to lend a hand, a kind gesture that would eventually lead to the blossoming of a musical partnership. “We all got together after that first encounter, meeting at Chaz’s home studio in Berkeley,” Jared recalled in a statement.

    “We had no set musical ideas because we wanted this to be fresh and pure and 100% collaborative… ,” he continued. “The songs started morphing and the camaraderie got so strong, inspired, and positive that it was absolutely exhilarating working together! We had the utmost trust in one another. It naturally became a joint record so it became fitting to call it a ‘meets’ project.”


    As a preview of the upcoming LP, the two acts have shared a hazy, jazz-infused track called “Star Stuff”. Check it out below.

    Bundick’s last Toro Y Moi album was 2015’s What For?. He recently launched a new ambient project called PLUM.


    Chaz Bundick Meets the Mattson 2 Artwork:

    v600 chazbundickmeetsthemattson2 starstuff 900 Toro Y Moi announces collaborative album with the Mattson 2, shares Star Stuff    listen

    Chaz Bundick Meets the Mattson 2 Tracklist:
    01. Sonmoi
    02. A Search
    03. JBS
    04. Star Stuff
    05. Steve Pink
    06. Disco Kid
    07. Don’t Blame Yourself
    08. Cascade

Personalized Stories

Around The Web