Yasiin Bey, a.k.a. Mos Def finally releases new album December 99th: Stream

A collaborative project with producer Ferrari Sheppard


    Yasiin Bey has three new albums on the way before he officially retires from the music and film industry. One of those, titled December 99th, has finally been released (it was originally slated to drop on December 9th). TIDAL subscribers can stream it here.

    December 99th is the first (and likely last) full-length to be released under Bey and producer Ferrari Sheppard’s collaborative Dec. 99th moniker. It spans nine (notice a trend here?) tracks, including early singles “Seaside Panic Room”,“N.A.W.”, and “Local Time”.

    Much of the LP was recorded in South Africa, where Bey has been, up until only recently, forced to stay for the past year. The rapper formerly known as Mos Def had previously been prohibited from leaving the country after trying to board an outbound plane without proper travel documents.


    Bey’s next two albums, Negus In Natural Person and As Promised, will be debuted live at The Apollo tonight, one of his four final US concerts. A second show at The Apollo scheduled for Thursday night will be streamed live on TIDAL.

    December 99th Artwork:

    dec 99 album Yasiin Bey, a.k.a. Mos Def finally releases new album December 99th: Stream

    December 99th Tracklist:
    01. N.A.W.
    02. Blade In The Pocket
    03. SPESH
    04. Local Time
    05. Tall Sleeves
    06. Seaside Panic Room
    07. Shadow In the Dark
    08. IT GOES
    09. Special Dedication
    10. Heri


Personalized Stories