ANOHNI announces Paradise EP, shares provocative title track — listen

A companion piece to last year's Hopelessness LP


    ANOHNI has announced a companion EP to last year’s spectacular full-length, Hopelessness. Set for release on March 17th through Secretly Canadian, Paradise consists of six new tracks made in collaboration with producers Oneohtrix Point Never and Hudson Mohawke. The aim of the EP, as a press release notes, is “to support activist conversations and disrupt assumptions about popular music through the collision of electronic sound and highly politicized lyrics.” You can preview the title track below.

    In a statement accompanying the EP’s announcement, ANOHNI writes:

    “Our new leaders hope to crush our spirits and expedite ecocide in the name of virulent progress, consumerism and false security.
    Like Jihadis, many capitalists and Christians compulsively seek to facilitate a righteous “holy war”, or apocalypse.

    For millennia, Men have enslaved women and attempted to appropriate female creative power, re-casting themselves as gods and creators.
    This assault continues today in the forms of ruthless wealth and mineral extraction, genetic engineering, mass surveillance and war mongering.

    But as Donald Trump and his cabinet now demonstrate, the skills encouraged in men by their biologies and the tools that boys master in the playground have not equipped them to deal with the unprecedented global crisis we are now facing.

    Mothers, your sons are trapped in a nightmare; they are not capable of responsibly negotiating the destructive agency that they now wield.

    More profound even than a crime against humanity, fathers and sons now compulsively prepare to commit ecocide, in a final and irreversible assault upon creation itself.

    Only an intervention by women around the world, with their innate knowledge of interdependency, deep listening, empathy and self-sacrifice, could possibly alter our species’ desperate course.”

    Paradise EP Artwork:

    ANOHNI Paradise

    Paradise EP Tracklist:
    01. In My Dreams
    02. Paradise
    03. Jesus Will Kill You
    04. You Are My Enemy
    05. Ricochet
    06. She Doesn’t Mourn Her Loss


Personalized Stories

Around The Web