Code Orange aren’t afraid to get “Ugly” on raging new song — listen

Hardcore group's third LP hits stores later this week


    Code Orange are just days away from the release of their new album, Forever. The 11-track effort follows 2014’s I Am King and marks the hardcore outfit’s third full-length since forming in Pittsburgh in 2008.

    “It’s not a flow-y process – it’s pretty painful,” drummer/vocalist Jami Morgan recently told Rolling Stone of the LP’s gritty recording process. “Grinding, screaming at each other, and just making it happen. We’ve been friends for so long. Jamming doesn’t work for what we’re trying to accomplish. It’s just pain, whether it’s, like, truly physical, or a little more bizarre. There’s a lot of bands about fun, especially in hardcore. Our band is not about fun. It’s never fun, but it’s rewarding.”

    The group’s shared a handful of early previews in the title track and last week’s “Bleeding in the Blur”; today, they’ve unboxed another dubbed “Ugly”. Taking a cue from the title, Code Orange’s latest is like listening to a human possessed — ominous whispers are tangled up with raging, guttural growls and discordant guitars. The song premiered on Daniel P. Carter’s BBC Radio 1 show and can be streamed here (scroll to the 1:37:00 mark).


    Forever arrives on January 13th via Roadrunner Records. The band is scheduled to launch a US tour the same day.

    Forever Tracklist:
    01. Forever
    02. Kill the Creator
    03. Real
    04. Bleeding in the Blur
    05. The Mud
    06. The New Reality
    07. Spy
    08. Ugly
    09. No One Is Untouchable
    10. Hurt Goes On
    11. dream2

Around The Web