Grandaddy, Band of Horses, Franz Ferdinand, Midlake supergroup BNQT share debut single “Restart” — listen

Off the collective's debut full-length, Volume 1


    BNQT formed in 2015 when Midlake’s Eric Pulido came up with the idea for a “poor man’s Traveling Willburys.” With his bandmates McKenzie Smith, Joey McClellan and Jesse Chandler behind him, he reached out to a group of musicians he’d played with and come to know over the years: Band of HorsesBen BridwellAlex Kapranos of Franz FerdinandTravisFran Healy, and Jason Lytle of Grandaddy. The idea was for each of the five singers to write and perform two songs apiece, with the Midlake members filling the role of backing band.

    On April 28th, BNQT will finally release the album through Dualtone and Entertainment One (Bella Union in the UK). Entitled Volume 1, much of the 10-track effort was recorded and produced in Midlake’s own Denton, Texas studio, with some of the artists contributing remotely via the Internet.

    As an early listen, the band has shared the record’s first single, “Restart”, an energetic slice of slightly psychedelic alternative rock.


    Pre-orders for Volume 1 are available now via Bella Union and Dualtone. Find the full album info below.

    Volume 1 Album Artwork:


    Volume 1 Tracklist:
    01. Restart
    02. Unlikely Force
    03. 100 Million Miles
    04. Mind Of A Man
    05. Hey Banana
    06. Real Love
    07. Failing at Feeling
    08. L.A. On My Mind
    09. Tara
    10. Fighting The World