Kelly Lee Owens announces debut album, shares lead single “Anxi” with Jenny Hval — listen

Electronic producer's self-titled album features a stunner of a guest appearance


    London electronic artist Kelly Lee Owens got her start collaborating with fellow British electronic artist Daniel Avery. Watching him work in the booth on his debut album, Drone Logic, Owens learned the ropes of production, and was soon off writing her own watery techno beats. After a pair of EPs, she’s ready to share her own self-titled debut full-length effort, set for release March 24th via Smalltown Supersound,

    The record “bridges the gaps between cavernous techno, spectral pop, and Krautrock’s mechanical pulse,” according to a press release. That’s certainly true for the album’s lead single, “Anxi”, which features Norwegian art pop star Jenny Hval. Muffled, echoing thumps of bass pulse like the quickening heart of a deep sea diver as Hval’s ghostly vocals layer on top of themselves in a mystifying haze.

    “It has been my most freeing and open collaboration so far,” Owens says of recording with Hval, “and my first time working with a female. It was a very powerful experience for me, I felt she brought something strange and quite beautiful.”


    Take a listen to “Anxi” below.

    Pre-orders for Kelly Lee Owens are going on now. That’s the cover art at the top of the page, and the tracklist is down below. In addition to Hval’s appearance, Avery also contributed to the record, co-writing the track “Keep Walking” with his protégé.

    Kelly Lee Owens Tracklist:
    01. S.O.
    02. Arthur
    03. Anxi ft. Jenny Hval
    04. Lucid
    05. Evolution
    06. Bird
    07. Throwing Lines
    08. CBM
    09. Keep Walking
    10. 8


Personalized Stories

Around The Web