Rodrigo y Gabriela announce 10th anniversary reissue of their self-titled LP with new live album

The Crocodile Album newly remastered and packaged with a never-before-released 2006 live record


    Photo by Tina Korhonen

    Despite playing music in the tradition of their Mexican home land, Rodrigo y Gabriela actually first came to prominence in Ireland. The duo moved there in 1999 and began performing in pubs around Dublin. Over the years, they built up such an intense following that when they released their self-titled 2006 record, it beat the likes of Arctic Monkeys and Johnny Cash to hit No. 1 on the charts.

    Now, to celebrate the album’s 10th year anniversary and the love their adopted home showed them, the guitar virtuosos have announced a new deluxe reissue of Rodrigo y Gabriela. “We had some crazy times in Ireland, and made many great friends there,” Gabriela Quintero tells Consequence of Sound. “The fans are so passionate about music, this is a thank you to them and our time in Dublin.”

    Due out March 31st via ATO, the two-disc release features the record remastered by the same person who handled the job originally, Robyn Robins. Alongside the expected nine album tracks are two bonus songs, “Senorita XXX” (previously only available on a Japanese version of the LP) and the never-before-released “Amuleto”. (Though these two tracks won’t be on the vinyl version, they will be part of the included digital download.)


    The second disc is a previously unreleased live album recorded at Dublin’s The Olypmia Theatre in 2006 that celebrated the success of Rodrigo y Gabriela. Physical copies of the reissue will also include a DVD of the concert, and you can watch the performance of “Satori” from the video just ahead.

    “We are busy at work on our new record,” reveals Rodrigo Sánchez, “but looking back at this album, it’s good to be reminded of how far we’ve come in ten years.”

    Pre-order the deluxe reissue of Rodrigo y Gabriela digitally here, or get it on CD or LP to also snag the DVD. Find the album art and tracklist underneath the “Satori” clip below.


    Rodrigo y Gabriela Deluxe Reissue Album Art:

    rodrigoygabriela cd 1500x1500 300dpi Rodrigo y Gabriela announce 10th anniversary reissue of their self titled LP with new live album

    Rodrigo y Gabriela Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:
    Disc 1
    01. Tamacun
    02. Diablo Rojo
    03. Vikingman
    04. Satori
    05. Ixtapa
    06. Stairway To Heaven
    07. Orion
    08. Juan Loco
    09. PPA
    10. Senorita XXX (Bonus Track)
    11. Amuleto (Bonus Track)

    Disc 2, Live at The Olympia Theatre 2006
    01. Tamacun
    02. Diem
    03. Satori
    04. Foc
    05. Ixtapa
    06. Orion
    07. Medley: One / Take 5
    08. Mr. Tang
    09. Diablo Rojo

Personalized Stories

Around The Web