Sneaks announces Merge Records debut, shares hypnotic “Inside Edition” — listen

Priests and Ex Hex-approved Eva Moolchan is making waves down in DC and beyond


    Eva Moolchan is an up-and-coming musician whose minimalist yet intriguing fusion of bass, drum machines, spoken word, and post-punk is turning heads in Washington, DC’s male-dominated DIY punk scene. Last September, Moolchan, who performs under the moniker Sneaks, signed on with Merge Records (Arcade Fire, Caribou, Spoon), which reissued her 2015 debut album, Gymnastics. (The LP was originally released on Sister Polygon, the label co-founded by Katie Alice Greer, singer for local heroes Priests.)

    On March 31st, Moolchan will issue her first proper album on Merge, titled It’s a Myth. It was recorded with the help of Jonah Takagi and Mary Timony of fellow label mates Ex Hex, and is said to walk a more experimental path than Gymnastics.

    Gymnastics was definitely rhythm-based, syllable-based,” Moolchan told the City Paper last year. “I was really drawn to the most simple beat on [the drum machine] because it was the pace I was at in life, and that was the rhythm that I was in.”


    The mindset going into the new album, meanwhile, was “discovery.” “Like, what happens when I try this instrument? Do I like it? Can I find myself in this instrument?” she explained, adding, “I think [the new songs are] coming from the same place but the way things are expressed are different, and there are different conclusions to things.”

    As a preview of It’s a Myth, Moolchan has let loose a hypnotic quick-hitter called “Inside Edition”, which can be heard below.

    It’s a Myth Tracklist:
    01. Inside Edition
    02. Look Like That
    03. Not My Combination
    04. Hair Slick Back
    05. Devo
    06. PBNJ
    07. Act Out
    08. Daffodils
    09. With a Cherry On Top
    10. Future