Wire announce new album Silver/Lead, share “Short Elevated Period” — listen

Arriving on the band's 40th anniversary

Photo by Matias Coral

    Photo by Matias Coral

    Influential post-punk bank Wire continues to show no signs of slowing down with the March 31st release of its 15th album, Silver/Lead. It arrives on the 40th anniversary of the band’s debut performance, and follows in the footsteps of 2016’s solid mini-LP Nocturnal Koreans.

    (Read: Wire in 10 Songs)

    Along with the announcement, Wire is previewing the album with the self-described “breakneck-paced guitar pop” of the lead single, “Short Elevated Period”. As the track chugs forward, frontman Colin Newman gives bassist Graham Lewis’s pensive lyrics a dreamy quality while still contemplating “a pivotal moment, in an uncertain future.”


    Silver/Lead Album Artwork:

    wire silver lead artwork Wire announce new album Silver/Lead, share Short Elevated Period    listen

    Silver/Lead Tracklist:
    01. Playing Harp For The Fishes
    02. Short Elevated Period
    03. Diamonds in Cups
    04. Forever & A Day
    05. An Alibi
    06. Sonic Lens
    07. This Time
    08. Brio
    09. Sleep On The Wing
    10. Silver/Lead

Personalized Stories

Around The Web